Heatseeker by Thalamus


heatseeker_01Publisher: Thalamus
Developer: Thalamus
Release Date: 1990
Code: Paul O’Malley
GFX: Paul O’Malley
Music: Mark Clements
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 75%
Our Game Rating: 75%
Completed by Matt Rogers
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Don’t get me wrong – I’m a big fan of Thalamus games, but Heatseeker just doesn’t do it for me. To me, it looks bad, sounds bad and plays bad, which is why I hardly spent any real time trying to complete it. Fortunately for me, the C64ending Team Members set out on a quest to complete this game, and came back victorious!
Such a strange game – for those who are not in the know, the purpose of the game is to feed three plants with enough heat to enable them to unfurl their petals in order to protect themselves from the acid rain that’s attacking their world. This acid rain prevents the people from going into the forest to do this so they create a mechanical leg to bounce around with a ball attached. So with further ado, here’s the ending…
heatseeker1
The final level…
heatseeker2
The End!
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Matt cheated all the way to the end 😉
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Oh do I really need to explain this one? Once the final ball is in its pod, the game teleports to the ending screen (see above screen shot). The message reads: “HEATSEEKER BY PAUL OMALLEY. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED. PRACTISE? Y/N…
COMMENTS:
Matt: Finally! After mapping the game and playing with unlimited energy for both leg and ball, it’s over!
You have to find the 8 sources of heat on each of the three levels, extract it using the ball, then find the three plants and deliver the heat. As each plant is fed, a log stamen-like thing unfurls and blocks the rain. But it’s not over there! You must do it all again, but this time at night (this is where mapping it became essential for me!). Weird, but strangely enjoyable!
Had real trouble saving the end to disk, so in order for you to see the whole thing you need to start VICE and attach the disk image of the game. Then load the VSF. Control the ball so it drops into the little cup-like hole to the left – that will feed the final plant and end the game. The reason to keep the disk image attached is so the title screen can reload with a Mission Accomplished message.
So, a score for a 10 second tune and a “Mission Accomplished” message? That would normally mean a 2, but something makes me want to go with a 3. :o)
Vinny: What?! All this for such a poor ending 😦 I know the game is cack, but the ending didn’t need to follow suit. I’m almost certain that the programmer ran out of memory on this one, but then again, it isn’t a brilliant game. Oh well, at least it’s another game none and dusted. Big-up to the main man Matt.
Brendan Phoenix: I had to have a double take at the screen, I was like ‘where is the ending message?’ Pathetic – 0.5/10 for me. Such a mare to complete as well, I know I attempted it, but couldn’t get to the night time levels. It is quite an ok game once you get the hang of it – I was like you Vinny, looks a mess, plays rubbish, etc, but it is quite a cool game. Controlling that ball into hard to reach area’s (ooh eer) is quite a challenge. Pity that the final game to complete the Thalamus ending collection is probably the worst.
Andy Vaisey: Check your dictionary for the entry “let-down” and it will be defined as “Heatseeker by Thalamus”. I never liked the game and this ending is no surprise for me. I would imagine it would be devastating to the people who spent centuries trying to complete it…
FINAL SAY: Top marks to Matt Rogers for completing it, but what a cack ending!

G.E. RATING: 2 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heatseeker by Thalamus

  1. Looks pretty grim, I have to say. I do wonder if Thalamus would have enjoyed quite such a reputation but for the Apex brothers and their near-flawless output. I struggled to get on with quite a few of their other titles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

