Dark Star by Mastertronic


darkstargamePublisher: Mastertronic
Developer: Mastertronic
Release Date: 1984
Code: David & Richard Darling
GFX: As above
Music: As above
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 35%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Dark Star by Mastertronic is another Games Creator product from the Darling brothers. It’s pretty awful, even by 1984 standards.
The aim of the game is to guide your space ship through the narrow tunnels whilst blasting enemies and racking up points. The graphics are quite poor, as are nearly all aspects of this woeful budget game.
I’m glad I never spent two quid on this one…
darkstar-1
Almost there!
darkstar-2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I played a cracked version where I could turn off sprite detection. I soon zoomed through the long repetitive playing area to the end.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you reach the end of the game your sprite and the border flicker various colours while your score bonus is calculated. After this, the map starts again from the beginning.
COMMENTS:
Neil: Most Games Creator games have nothing at the end of them. This one does… but it’s not worth seeing. 0.5/10.
Vinny: Believe it or not, but I DID spend £1.99 on this game back in the day and thought it was really cool… for about 5 minutes!
I’m shocked that there’s an ending! Richard and David Darling aren’t renowned for having game endings in their Commodore 64 releases, and so it good to see one… even if it is cack! 0.5/10 from me too.
Andy Vaisey: I have this game in my collection and this is one of the very few that I have no recollection of where and why I bought it. An absolute shoddy game, the best bit being the cover art on the case. I’m amazed this even has an ‘ending’, if you can call it an ending. I’m surprised it didn’t just crash or something when the map run out.
Gaz Spence: I suppose the Darling Bros had to start somewhere but I’m amazed Mastertronic released such a threadbare game. The ending should be keep in the dark.
Andrew Fisher: I played this once for less than five minutes. Glad I never spent money on it, or tried to reach the awful ending.
FINAL SAY: Well, it is.. an ending of sorts…

G.E. RATING: 0.5 / 10

This entry was posted in D, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

