Tau Ceti by CRL


tau-ceti_01Publisher: CRL
Developer: CRL
Release Date: 1986
Code: John Twiddy
GFX: Uknown
Music: n/a
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 93%
Our Game Rating: 89%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Another game I used to spend hours playing, although it was very frustrating – and I seemed to get nowhere. The aim of Tau Ceti is to collect all the rods and place them in the reactor in the City of Centralis. This game is very difficult, and has a few very annoying aspects – especially trying to dock with buildings: one slip and it was game over…
tauceti1
The game is complete!
tauceti2
The door close.
tauceti3
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I played this game again for a few hours and realized it was too difficult to beat. I looked around on the Net for tips and cheats to help. I then read that the C64 version of this game has a bug, which makes the game impossible to complete. I never got that far to test this, as I used a cracked version by Hokuto Force, which allows you to start the game with all the rods.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: You get a ‘CONGRATULATIONS‘ message at the bottom of the screen, which informs you that the planet is to be re-colonised, while at the top of the screen you are shown the planet map zooming out. Your score is then calculated and you are asked to press fire to start the game again.
COMMENTS:
Neil: Awful ending to a game which would have taken hours to complete. 2/10.
Vinny: I haven’t actually played the game and so I not sure if certain elements repeat themselves in the actual ending. I think the zooming out of the planet is cool and so I have added an extra point for that. Apart from that element, there isn’t much there 😦
Gaz Spence: Blink and you’ll miss the end. I was a little disappointed given the game’s quite stylish but alas the programmer clearly thought that no one would be bothered enough to collect all the rods. I managed Hull, Steiger and Laver and got bored.
Frank Gasking: Never really got into the game when I first played it off Commodore Format’s powerpack (issue 1). Just went around shooting things and that was it 😉
Doesn’t seem too bad an ending, again…. lack of memory cramming all the 3D bits and bitmaps in?
Andrew Fisher: Basically, it’s a re-use of the map zoom in/out routine. Not a very inspiring ending.
Brendan Phoenix: Remember seeing this in Zzap64 and thought it looked very atmospheric – never played it back in the day and I have still not even today.
That ending is really lame, as compounded said, it has the impression that no one will ever see this ending anyway. Doesn’t make me want to play the game and I cant see myself ever viewing this ending again.
Andy Vaisey: Shame.
A bit later, John Twiddy wrote The Last Ninja for System 3 which also had, guess what… a crappy ending.
John Twiddy = great games + shoddy endings?
FINAL SAY: Crack. I’m glad I didn’t waste my time completing it properly.

G.E. RATING: 3 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, T. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

