Impossamole by Gremlin Graphics


impossamole_04Publisher: Gremlin Graphics
Developer: Core Design
Release Date: 1993
Code: Unknown
GFX: Unknown
Music: Barry Leitch
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 69%
Our Game Rating: 65%
Completed by Brendan Phoenix
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
What on earth were the programmers of Impossmole thinking! You have this great franchise, Monty Mole, and it carries some weight thanks to some previous Monty games. But for some reason, Gremlin Graphics decided to completely change the format of the game, and produced an absolute dud! This game is poor in almost every way; I remember buying an original of it back in 1990, and almost taking it back and demanding my money back! Long gone were the days of Monty on the Run 😦
By the way – before anyone mentions it, I know that the screenshot to the left of this page is the Amstrad loading screen from Impossamole. The C64 version was so cack that they couldn’t even be bothered to produce a loading picture!
So now you know my views on the game, is there any chance the ending can help redeem things…
impossamole1
The final level is complete!
impossamole2
Impossamole flies off the screen.
impossamole3
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Brendan used a trainer.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: When you complete the final level, Impossamole flies off the screen and then the end message appears, which reads: “CONGRATULATIONS MONTY. YOU HAVE SUCCESSFULLY OBTAINED THE SCROLLS OF ETERNAL LIFE. THUS SAVING OUR PLANET FROM CERTAIN DESTRUCTION. THAT SHOULD KEEP THOSE ALIENS HAPPY. I WONDER ABOUT MY NEXT ADVENTURE?
COMMENTS:
Brendan: Really really poor. No end game tune – just some words of congratulations and that’s it! 2/10.
Vinny: I think the ending is a reflection of the actual game itself. No real surprises that the ending is poor. I just can’t work out why they didn’t include an ending tune and some animation; I mean – it was a multiload game wasn’t it?
Andrew Fisher: Well, it was Core Designs who developed the game for Gremlin, but you could see the money signs appearing in Gremlin’s eyes as they planned merchandise, cartoons and TV shows for the newly revamped mole…
Never a fan of this game, bad ending.
Andy Vaisey: Just like the Dizzy games, I was never into the Mole either. I know I face possible flaming from others but, sorry, I was always of the opinion that the C64 was above such games as Dizzy, Miner and Mole. Why have a fantastic video chip then make it display crappy graphics? And I don’t care how good the ‘gameplay’ is supposed to be. The platformer action did nothing for me… I couldn’t stand any of them.
I do appreciate what Core tried to do by modernising the look and feel of this Mole episode. Shame it didn’t come off so well. Not help by the shoddy ending, either.
Brendan Phoenix: I loved Monty on the Run and it’s still as playable today. I’m also a fan of the underrated Auf Wiedersehen Monty. However this ‘updating’ was terrible. It just didn’t play or feel right – they should have kept it old-skool with better graphics.
Ending is drab – suits the game.
FINAL SAY: This just is on! A poor ending to a poor game 😦

G.E. RATING: 2 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, I. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Impossamole by Gremlin Graphics

  1. I had this on the “Chart Attack” compilation, but it was faulty and never loaded. Doesn’t look as if I missed much. 😦

    Like

  2. Mathieu Faes says:

    Hiya, I always had a soft spot for this game. The reason I played Impossamole before I ever even laid an eye on the Original Monty games most likely is the reason why.
    Anyway, the ending’s utter crap though, that I agree with.

    Like

  3. Mathieu Faes says:

    My previous comment seriously just doesn’t seem to make any sense at all lol.
    I guess all I wanted to say is that unlike many people I was always quite fond of this game.

    Like

Leave a Reply

