The Curse of the Mad Mummy by Softgold


mad_mummy_01Publisher: Softgold
Developer: Gameworx Soft.
Release Date: 1984
Code: Daryll Reynolds
GFX: Daryll Reynolds
Music: Daryll Reynolds
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 65%
Completed & Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Yeah, yeah – I know! Of all the game endings that are in the  OFFLINE ARCHIVE, I had to choose this ending to reveal to the C64 Gaming  Freaks. I know it’s a very basic game, and I know that the graphics and sound aren’t anything to shout about, but there was something about this game that made me want to play through it until the end.
To be honest, I’m intrigued by the way this game has been constructed, and I have always thought that if I was ever to produce a C64 adventure game, then it would end up looking exactly like the Daryll Reynolds adventure games. In other words, my games would be good and bad at the same time.
I first owned and played this game back in 1984 when I purchased the original from our local game store. I kind of knew that it was going to be cack, but I still purchased and play it until my eyelids dried up. Twenty five years on, I decided to hunt out the solution and play through the entire game for the ending. Unfortunately, the game makes no sense whatsoever and it’s virtually impossible to suss out any of the ‘puzzles’ without the solution!
Enough babble – here’s the ending.
caseofmadmummy1
Nearly there!
caseofmadmummy2
The final leap…
caseofmadmummy3
…the lights go out…
caseofmadmummy4
…The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I used a solution and went wrong a few times and had to restart the game. When I did finally complete it, I forgot to save the ending and had to play it again! Four times it took me to get this flippin’ ending :-/
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you make the final leap, lightening strikes, and an ending message appears, which reads: “WELL I’M GLAD THAT’S ALL OVER! NOW WHERE DO I GO FROM HERE? AFRICA MAYBE — THAT BOOK I READ.. ‘THE SEARCH FOR KING SOLOMONS MINES’ HHMMMMM VERY INTERESTING.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: Hmmm… this is a tough one, because you know the ending is going to mirror the game’s lack of graphics and sound, and so there’s no surprises here. I’m just not too sure how to score this one and so I may leave it up to members of the team to see what they think…
Kungfufurby: Sorry, folks, I’m not rating this ending…
The ending is pretty interesting, as it comes complete with sound. That alone convinces me, because THAT makes this ending better than some of the other one-screen endings that only contain text and no music.
Andy Vaisey: Hahahahahaha! The old ‘screen shifts to the right as the machine resets’… classic!
Well, I’ve never seen or played this and it looks like a pile of poopoo, but at least there’s some attempt at an ending there somewhere. Somewhere… 3/10.
Andrew Fisher: Not bad for such a simple game… agree with Andy, 3/10
FINAL SAY: The strange thing is, I think you should check out the game!

G.E. RATING: 3 / 10

This entry was posted in C, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

