Rapid Fire by Mastertronic


rapidfiregamePublisher: Mastertronic
Developer: Mastertronic
Release Date: 1987
Code: John Buckley
GFX: Unknown
Music: Unknown
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 68%
Completed by Vinny Mainolfi & Neil Collins
Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download my Crazy Hack file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Rapid fire by Mastertronic can only be described as Green Beret’s uglier, clumsier and down right sillier brother. Like Green Beret, you have to run through six levels of oncoming soldiers and obstacles to reach the end of the game. It’s not fun to play, and the graphics are pretty terrible. Thank god it wasn’t too long before I had cracked this one…
rapidfire1
Level 6 looks like any other level!
rapidfire3
“I thank you” (“,)
rapidfire4
“I know!”
rapidfire5
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?:
Neil: Using an infinite lives cheat.
Vinny: I’m just sorry that Neil had to play all the way through this one to see the ending because I have since built a crazy hack of it that allows you to press RUN/STOP to automatically see the ending.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: At the end of level six you reach what seems to be some explosives(?) Approaching the explosives causes them to ignite and sparks fly around the screen. A message appears to congratulate you on your successful mission destroying the enemy headquarters. Another message appears saying that the mission is accomplished. The game then ends and resets to the high score table and title screen.
COMMENTS:
Neil: I’m shocked! A Mastertronic game with an end. OK, it’s not great, but it’s a   fair ending I suppose.
Vinny: I know how Neil feels about playing through this game. I had to play it over and over and over again when coding and testing my crazy hack. Even after the first go it was annoying me. But the strange thing is, there was still something tempting me through it all. But it definitely WASN’T the ending. 3/10 from me too.
Andrew Fisher: Very simple ending, but agreed that it is better than nothing.
Brendan Phoenix: Thankful for small endings!
FINAL SAY: I’d have scored it higher if it wasn’t so bloody ugly.

G.E. RATING: 3 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, R. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

