The Neverending Story by Ocean


neverending_story_01Publisher: Ocean
Developer: Ocean
Release Date: 1985
Code: Ian Weatherburn
GFX: Steve Cain
Music: Martin Gallway
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 65%
Our Game Rating: 83%
Completed by David Craddock
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
# …it’s the answer to a never ending story… oooo-o-oooo-o-oooo-o…# This takes me back; this  really takes me back. I actually purchased this game on the day it was released for four reasons: 1. because I wanted to hear the new Gallway tune; 2. I was into text adventures at the time; 3. I loved the look of the graphics on the tape inlay; and 4. I had the money to waste/spend at the time. I must say… I wasn’t disappointed with my purchase, but I was a little upset that the game was a tad too difficult for me. Actually – to be honest, I was never really good at text adventures…
neverendingstory1
Go ‘EAST’ to finish the game.
neverendingstory2
The Empress congratulates you…
neverendingstory3
…and you fly off into the sunset.
neverendingstory4
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I think David used a walkthrough/solution that is available on the Net. If you would like a copy of a solution, CLICK HERE. Thanks to Tom Hayes, the author of the solution, for allowing us to make this available to you.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you have entered the Empresses’ quarters (oo-er, missus), she congratulates you on making Bastian believe in Fantasia. She then states that Fantasia can now be restored. You then set off to begin rebuilding Fantasia.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: It’s a typical text adventure ending with an epilogue, but with some additional graphics – but nothing much. I was hoping for a Gallway ending tune, but maybe that was wishful thinking. All in all – a ‘kind of’ satisfactory ending for a text adventure. It just could have been much better.
Brendan Phoenix: I like it – much better than most text adventure game endings I have seen – most tend to end in a very abrupt manner.
Least there is a good epilogue and some ok static pics!
Frank Gasking: I thought the Never Ending Story ending was pretty cool!… especially for a text adventure game!… Normally it used to be just a basic “Congratulations” message on the old GAC/Quill based games, where as you get some nicely illustrated shots by Simon Butler as a bonus in the Ocean ones. Hunchback the Adventure will probably have a very similar type of ending as I think its by the same people.
Andrew Fisher: I quite like that ending, pictures are nice.
Just think, a couple of years later and it would have probably been turned into a multi-level platformer with a puzzle bonus game… The text adventure probably suited the source material better though!
Andy Vaisey: Pretty decent for the age of the game.
FINAL SAY: It is what it is…

G.E. RATING: 5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, N. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

