Gauntlet III: The Final Fight by U.S. Gold


gauntlet3gamePublisher: U.S. Gold
Developer: Soft. Creations
Release Date: 1991
Code: M Howarth, H Dalton
GFX: Martin Howarth
Music: Tim & Geoff Follin
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 92%
Our Game Rating: 89%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Gauntlet III was a bit of shock for me. I was never a fan of the first two games, so I gave the third one a miss. I had no idea it was an isometric/3D game as opposed to the top-down view of the originals. The graphics are pretty good, and the backgrounds are very well drawn for a C64 game. The game itself though is very similar to the earlier games. You have to slay the hordes of ghosts and beasts, collecting keys and potions while trying to find the exit. I found this game far more enjoyable than the first two. Give it a go, if you have never played it…
gauntlet3-1
Our Warrior has reached the final destination…
gauntlet3-2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Using an infinite lives and energy cheat.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you have collected the final key that allows you access to the castle, you have to make your way through it’s halls to a platform at the back of the room that has a pentagram on it. I’m guessing this is the gate that you have been sent to close. Once you step on it, you get a message reading ‘Congratulations! You have closed the gate to hell’. The game then restarts.
COMMENTS:
Neil: That’s it ! Oh lord… That’s rather terrible.
Vinny: I’ve never really sat down and played this game, and I don’t really know much about it. What I do know is that it was never commercially released, which is a shame. Here’s some extra info on the game itself courtesy of Frank Gasking and GTW64: http://www.gamesthatwerent.com/gtw64/gauntlet-3/
As for the ending… was it just an easy option because the coders were going to build a ‘proper’ ending for the game had it been 100% complete? Who knows. All I do know is that this current ending is cack! 0.5/10 from me.
Andrew Fisher: It always reminded me of the arcade game Dark Seal, which used a similar isometric viewpoint. It’s a good game in many ways, but it’s not pure Gauntlet. Given the unfinished state a poor ending was unsurprising. (But I do know someone lucky enough to own a boxed copy…)
Andy Vaisey: Never really played this, even though I downloaded an image 10 years ago. I’ve heard it’s a bit buggy. However it does look and sound gorgeous. Might have to make time to have a play, but it will be purely out of interest and not for that pathetic ending.
Brendan Phoenix: Hold my hands up – not a fan of the Gauntlet games at all (even the arcade originals) seeing this ending does not make me change my mind.
FINAL SAY: I closed the gates to hell and all I got was this crappy ending.

G.E. RATING: 1 / 10

This entry was posted in G, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gauntlet III: The Final Fight by U.S. Gold

  1. I remember this one being hyped hugely in the magazines during the last 2-3 years of the C64’s commercial life, but I don’t recall it ever had a proper commercial release. Good to see they actually finished it, though that end sequence does rather scream “rush job.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

