Wasteland by Electronic Arts


wastelandgamePublisher: Electronic Arts
Developer: Interplay
Release Date: 1988
Code: Alan Pavlish
GFX: Todd Camasta
Music: n/a
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 95%
Our Game Rating: 90%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Wasteland by Electronic Arts is a game of extreme awesomeness. Many believe that this is the definitive RPG of all time. I have to say that for its time it was an epic game of incredible depth. I never managed to complete it, so I needed to beat this one once and for all…
The game is set in a post-apocalyptic future where robots rule the radioactive chaos that once was earth. Your aim is to destroy the base where these machines are produced. There are tons of quests to complete, items to collect, characters to interact with and areas to explore. The game is huge. Your characters can develop a ton of skills to aid you on your quest and provide many different ways of beating the game. It’s so open ended that it will have you coming back for more as the game experience changes every time, depending on which choices you make. There’s just too much to tell you all about this game. If you like sci-fi and you like RPG’s, then you must play this game. It set the standard for many future RPGs. It was a pleasure to play again all these years later.
wasteland1
Things were peaceful until…
wasteland2
KA-BOOM!
wasteland3
CRASH!
wasteland4
And so begins the epilogue…
wasteland5
More epilogue…
wasteland6
…and a little more.
wasteland6-1
And finally… some more!
wasteland7
Ah – looks like the mission is coming to an end…
wasteland8
…yep – here we go…
wasteland9
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I used a character editor to boost my characters attributes to save playing the game for weeks to build up my character’s experience points.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you reach the final base, set the self destruct sequence and escape to safety – the game is complete. You are then treated to a neat little end sequence. A picture of the base at Cochise appears on the screen showing the roof exploding. Following that is a message describing the events that happened at the base once you escaped. Finally a larger picture is shown, where you can see the victorious player looking at the smouldering ruins of the base. A final passage of text is then displayed below to neatly conclude this fantastic game.
COMMENTS:
Neil: A perfect RPG. I enjoyed every second of this game. I was actually quite sad that it had to end. The ending itself is pretty good too, although the game experience is what this one is all about. A C64 classic. 8/10.
Vinny: I wouldn’t know a good RPG if it whacked me over the head with a mallet and shouted “I’m a good RPG!”. For me, RPG stands for ‘Rubbish Piece of Gank’, which I’m sure you’ve worked out by now that I’m not a lover of this genre. I do appreciate that an RPG lover such as Neil really loves this game and so I take it on his recommendation that it’s a good game… but I’m still not going to play it 😉
As for the ending… it didn’t blow me away, and I’m not really a lover of those bland-style graphics, but I do appreciate that you may have to play through the whole game to feel the satisfaction of the ending. For that, I’m giving it 7/10.
Andrew Fisher: I’ve never had the chance to devote time to a proper playthrough of this, but it did always impress me with some original ideas that took it away from the typical fantasy RPG. It was also a big influence on the best-selling Fallout series. Many fans are looking forward to Wasteland 2, funded by Kickstarter and being created by many of the original team.
The ending is very much in keeping with the style and graphics of the rest of the game, and I am impressed by it.
Andy Vaisey: Not a bad ending at all indeed! Nice!
Keep an eye out for Crimson Twilight also… I’ll convince Moloch to give it a decent ending… 😀
Brendan Phoenix: I admit I have not played this, I love my point and click adventures so it is strange I never took to RPG’s either on the C64 or the Amiga.
Maybe I am scared of being hooked on them – I have no doubt that this is a great game and the ending seems to have a fitting finale’ for your efforts.
FINAL SAY: One word: Class.

G.E. RATING: 7.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, W. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

