Quo Vadis by The Edge


quo_vadis_01Publisher: The Edge
Developer: Activision
Release Date: 1984
Code: Stephen Chapman
GFX: Stephen Chapman
Music: Stephen Chapman
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 81%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
Quo Vadis caused a bit of a stir back in the eighties. What with it’s almost never-ending map of caverns and caves, it’s tough clues and hints, and its frustrating and challenging controls. Oh – and not forgetting its incredible cash prize for anyone who completed the game! I wonder if anyone did ever claim the prize. Anyway – a very satisfactory platformer – if a little challenging and frustrating at times…
quovadis1
The final end sequence …
quovadis2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I used an infinite energy cheat and a map that I found on the internet (mapped by DanSolo – many thanks). Without a map – this game would have taken weeks to complete.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: I found the skull sceptre type object in the depths of the caves, in the bottom left hand corner of the map – near a cryptic message on the wall. After collecting it, I made the long journey back up to where I started. This was a painful task, as there are many dead ends, and areas where you can’t climb back up. Finally, I found the only route that allows you access back to the ladder from which you start the game. So I climbed the ladder… You get a message ‘At last you think you are there – Hit return’. So I pressed the return button and…. Nothing happened. You go back to the title screen.
COMMENTS:
Neil: A huge disappointment. I really thought that something better would happen after all that effort. One of the worst endings to such a vast game. I’m going to hunt the programmer down and slap him across the face. I want my money back!! 0/10.
Vinny: Wow! I remember my brother and I playing this game to death and really trying to complete it to win the cash prize. We got quite far, but then we decided that the game couldn’t be completed and so we gave up.
I’m really not surprised that the game ending is this basic and literally non-existent. 0.5/10 from me.
FINAL SAY: Shame. After all these years, I really hoped that I’d see something special.

G.E. RATING: 0.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, Q. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

