Imagination by Firebird


imaginationgamePublisher: Firebird
Developer: Firebird
Release Date: 1987
Code: Peter Torrance
Loading GFX: S. Robertson
Music: n/a
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 76%
Our Game Rating: 76%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Imagination is a text adventure by Firebird. I remember playing this, but I don’t think I got anywhere near completing it. It’s not a bad game. The puzzles seem quite logical, which is rare for these types of games. I’m not a huge fan of text adventures, but this one is pretty good and worth playing if it’s your cup of tea…
imagination-1
Time to open that hatch…
imagination-2
Here we go…
imagination-3
Huh – is that it?
imagination-6
What are we counting for?!
imagination-9
Stop that!
imagination-10
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Using a walkthrough I found online.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you reach the final screen and open the hatch, you get to see outer space. You then have to complete the final task, which is finding out the number of stars in the galaxy. You begin to count them.. 1 2 3 4 5… before a message is displayed saying that this may take some time. Game over appears and the game restarts.
COMMENTS:
Neil: The attempt at humour at the end was wasted on me. I suppose the point of text adventures is to beat it using your intelligence, not cheating and seeing the ending like I did. 2/10.
Vinny: I too completed this a few years back using a walkthrough that I found online. The thing is, when I first purchased the original of this game back in 1987 I just couldn’t get anywhere; the game was far too tough to work out what to do at each stage. But then again… that’s probably because I’m useless at text adventures.
As for the ending… yep – I expected something like this; though it would have been good if we had a better explanation of the ending. 2/10 from me too.
Andrew Fisher: I think the ending is funny, but I’d be miffed if I spent hours playing to get it.
Andy Vaisey: It’s kind of cool that a text adventure has an ending, but it could be viewed as a bit of a slap in the face for the effort. I’d give it 3/10 just for existing!
Gaz Spence: I like the ending – I suppose it’s trying to sum up the infinite possibilities that exist within the universe. Was the coder a metaphysicist?
Brendan Phoenix: I’m always hoping for more from text adventure game endings and am usually left disappointed – this is no exception.
FINAL SAY: Terrible. I’m glad I didn’t waste my time trying to complete it without a solution.

G.E. RATING: 2 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, I. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

