Dark Caves by CP Verlag


Dark_Caves_1Publisher: CP Verlag
Developer: Jan Zimmermann
Release Date: 1993
Code: Jan Zimmermann
FX: Arthquake
Music: Jan Zimmermann
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 84%
Completed by Gaz Spence
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
To be honest, I’d never played this game before, and it was only because Gaz sent in the ending that I thought I had better check out the game. Now the ending is in the style of Tetris, and so I was expecting a puzzle game; but to my total astonishment, it isn’t; it’s actually a H.E.R.O. (Activision) rip-off, and a good one at that. With some nice colourful graphics, great sonix and game play to boot, this is a cracking game. Looks like I’m sorted for the next few days ๐Ÿ™‚
darkcaves1
TETRIS!
darkcaves2
Oooo… the smaller blocks have just merged into a LARGE block.
darkcaves3
Hmmm… what’s going on here then?
darkcaves4
AH! I think I see…
darkcaves5
…the fuse has been extinguished! Brilliant!
darkcaves6
YAY! Money ๐Ÿ™‚
darkcaves7
Lots of money!
darkcaves8
LOADS-A-MONEEEEEEEEY!
darkcaves9
Look at my wad!
darkcaves9a
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I think that Gaz used a trained version and cheat his way to the end ๐Ÿ™‚
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you have created the correct shape of block – I think you just need to get Tetris – the game ending takes over… All the smaller blocks merge into one big block, the gate opens, and then the block gets pushed into the fuse and extinguishes it – thus stopping the TNT from exploding.
The ending message then kicks in and reads: “Congratulation[s]… you succeeded in deactivating the destruction machine. The treasury[!] is yours. Game over!” This is accompanied by an ending ditty.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: It’s actually a very satisfying ending; maybe too short, but still very satisfying. I can’t help but think that I have heard the ending music somewhere else! I bet Frank knows ๐Ÿ™‚ 6/10.
Frank Gasking: Ah, the tune in Dark Caves is a cover of Thanatos by Rob Hubbard. Pretty neat one too. I brought Dark Caves from EBES back in the day, great little HERO rip off ๐Ÿ™‚
Gaz Spence: It’s good that you’ve dusted this ending down Vinny – one of the more satisfying that I’ve unearthed. I was surprised to find the Tetris-inspired final level, after having skipped through the HEROesque levels. A good CP Verlag game and a very respectable ending sequence.
Brendan Phoenix:ย Above average ending, I like it – bit of an original ending here, which is getting more unusual with the endings we are seeing on here.
FINAL SAY: It’s a good enough ending to see…

G.E. RATING: 6 / 10

This entry was posted in D, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

