Venom by Mastertronic


venomgamePublisher: Mastertronic
Developer: Softel
Release Date: 1987
Code: L. Hogarth, C. Wilson
GFX: Unknown
Music: n/a
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 75%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Venom by Mastertronic is an icon driven graphic adventure, similar to other titles such as Kobayashi Naru and Shard of Inovar. You play the part of Rikka in the land of Argonath. Traklan and his hordes infest the land and it’s up to you to be the hero and sort things out for your good mate Arrel – the ruler of Armosin. It’s simple to play via joystick – so none of that boring typing needed. The graphical locations look good and the puzzles aren’t too challenging. Fans of the other Mastertronic adventures will like this one just as much. Another bargain title from one of the biggest budget game publishers.
venom-1
YIKES!
venom-2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Again, an erroneous online solution had me stuck for a while until I figured it out myself.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Less than I imagined. The end is just some red text which reads ‘CONGRATULATIONS! ARREL IS NOW CURED AND THE LAND IS FREE OF THE EVIL OF TRAKLAN THE TYRANT‘.
COMMENTS:
Neil: Massively let down. Graphics throughout yet none at the end. 1/10.
Vinny: I’m not really a massive fan of adventure games – especially not the icon driven ones. Though saying that, I do enjoy the later ones that appeared on the Amiga and PC such as Simon The Sorcerer, Monkey Island, Indiana Jones, and many of the Lucas Arts games. Unfortunately, this genre just didn’t appeal to me on the Commodore 64 and so there are quite a few of these games that I haven’t actually played yet!
I’ve always owned an original of this game, but never really played it as it isn’t my cup of tea. I only purchased it because I collected Mastertronic titles – no matter how good or bad!
The ending is typically what I expected and so no surprises there 😦 0.5/10 from me.
Andrew Fisher: I  enjoyed these games designed by Clive Wilson, the icon-driven system made it slightly easier than constant typing. However it does feel like a let-down that there is no ending to speak of – a simple picture to celebrate at least!
Brendan Phoenix: Really annoying when a graphic adventure only has a simple text message ending. What is the point of having all those nice static screens if we do not get to see a nice reward for our efforts?
Sadly this is the norm when it comes to these type of games, very few are the exception.
Andy Vaisey: I loved the Infocom text adventures and for me were the pinnacle of adventuring on 8bit; ‘real’ game worlds full of atmosphere, characters and story that fully absorbed you. While I appreciated some later 8bit efforts, adding icon driven interfaces to make them appeal to a wider audience (in my opinion), I never felt as absorbed by this style of gaming and feel that the story was sacrificed for the interface.
While this game is a better example of the genre, it then kicks you in the teeth with a completely counter-intuitive ending – great idea, lets make a graphical adventure with a text ending!
FINAL SAY: Poor ending to this one. Don’t waste your time.

G.E. RATING: 1 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, V. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

