Netherworld by Hewson


netherworld_01Publisher: Hewson
Developer: Hewson
Release Date: 1988
Code: Jukka Tapanimäki
GFX: Darrin Stubbington
Music: Jori Olkkonen
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 87%
Our Game Rating: 87%
Completed by Neil Collins & Brendan Phoenix
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Netherworld was one of those cool Commodore 64 shoot-em-up puzzle games that passed me by when it was first released. I would forever see the advert appearing in the gaming press, but never did anything to satisfy my curiosity. I let it pass me by for 21 years, until both Neil and Brendan sent in the ending…
netherworld1
The final level is complete…
netherworld2
…with the ship taking a quick exit.
netherworld3
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: We all cheated 🙂
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: The words ‘NICE BLASTING‘ appears over a star field, accompanied by the exact same tune that features between all the other levels.
COMMENTS:
Neil: I never played Netherworld on the C64. It’s quite a decent little shoot-em-up / puzzle game. Your aim is to explore each level, blasting aliens and collecting crystals that allow you to proceed onto the next level.
Terrible ending. It should have been better. Much better. 2/10.
Brendan: Truth be told I didn’t believe this was the ending and so I cycled through all 13 levels again with a level skip trainer. Unfortunately it was the ending!
I’m sorry – this doesn’t even deserve 0.5 / 10. It’s a pathetic ending. A new end game tune at the very least would have pushed it up, but with just two pathetic words, and the same music and backgrounds as all the other levels – this is a big fat zero for me.
Vinny: I’d never played this game and so when I saw the ending, I thought “what a bloody superb tune!” I was going to give this a 6/10 just for the music, but after reviewing the whole game, I realised that it’s the same old tune throughout 😦 This ending gets a 1/10 from me.
Andrew Fisher: What a shame… never got far in this without cheating, glad I didn’t spend a lot of time playing it to reach that ending!
Andy Vaisey: Nice blasting my arse. No new tune, no funky screen, no whizzy sprites, no nothing. Lazy. Shoot the coder ’til he’s dead all over.
Kungfufurby: I actually liked the tune… but I didn’t realize it was a repeat from the level introduction tunes.
The picture isn’t much either.
FINAL SAY: Hewson should know better than to produce an ending SO cack.

G.E. RATING: 1.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, N. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

