Kentilla by Mastertronic


kentilla_01Publisher: Mastertronic
Developer: Mastertronic
Release Date: 1986
Code: Derek Brewstor
GFX: Derek Brewstor
Music: Rob Hubbard
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 90%
Our Game Rating: 84%
Completed by David Craddock
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Okay, I admit it: I was one of those C64 Freaks who purchased this game just because it had a Rob Hubbard tune! Actually – it wasn’t the only game I purchased just for the tune; there were also Delta, Knucklebusters, Gerry the Germ… in fact – I bet there’s a whole host of them!
ZZAP64 magazine certainly thought this game was worth giving 90%, but I wasn’t convinced of it’s greatness. After playing it for a few minutes – well at least until the Hubbard tune finished – I got the feeling that this adventure game wasn’t worth its top score. I got a little lost and a bit bored with it and I haven’t played it since. And for me, there are a lot more deserving adventure games out there for the Commodore 64…
kentilla1
One final command…
kentilla2
The End!
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: David used a solutions sheet.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: A very small epilogue (see above screenshot) and the words: “CONGRATULATIONS ON THE COMPLETION OF YOUR QUEST. YOU HAVE COMPLETED 100%.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: Okay – so let’s be honest here… what kind of ending was I actually expecting? Well, I thought there would at least be a graphical depiction of the ending, along with another Hubbard tune. Instead, it’s just a load of text! A real let down 😦
Andy Vaisey: I *didn’t* purchase this just for the music. I’m one of these sad people who really likes text adventures. And goodness me, this is actually a good game at an amazing budget price from Mastertronic no less!
This game was quite atmospheric, with decent text and descriptions, always a bonus for this type of game obviously! It always annoyed me, for some reason, how the loading screen spells the game title different to everywhere else…
And, ok, the Hubbard music was pretty good. It has received a pretty good remix by vurtX over on RKO too. Happy days!
Kungfufurby: Er… what happened to the ending? I feel as though the ending had no epilouge whatsoever!
I will forgive the game for being mostly text-based… I wish there was at least an ending picture, though, to go with it.
Matt Rogers: Shades of Se-Kaa!
Andrew Fisher: I must admit, I’ve never played this but the Rob Hubbard tune is great. Trying hard to think of a text adventure game with a good ending – I suppose the graphical treats in the Rod Pike / CRL horror games are among the best.
Brendan Phoenix: Bit naff that Kentilla had static graphics on some locations and that they didn’t think the ending was worthy of one.
If it was a text only adventure, it’s exactly how you would expect the ending to be, but seeing as it did have some graphics I think it’s a cop out that they didn’t include one for the ending.
FINAL SAY: It isn’t a quality ending 😦

G.E. RATING: 1 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, K. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

