Ikari III: The Rescue by SNK


ikari3gamePublisher: SNK
Developer: SNK
Release Date: 1990
Code: David Bean
GFX: Jim Blackler
Music: Charlie Barr
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 55%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Ikari III is a terrible follow up to Ikari Warriors (I’m guessing). The game is awful from start to finish. The graphics are ugly, the game play is pathetic and it’s full of bugs and glitches. The cut scenes and dialogue are quite funny, although they probably aren’t meant to be. I just didn’t want to play this one at all.
ikari3-1
# I need a hero #
ikari3-2
# I’m holding out for a hero ‘til the end of the night #
ikari3-3
# He’s gotta be strong, he’s gotta be fast #
ikari3-6
# And he’s gotta be fresh from the fight #
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I used a level skip cheat.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you have rescued the prisoner and made it to the rendezvous point the game is complete. A picture of a plane is shown flying over a sunset (which looks like an explosion). Some text is shown below it, which is dialogue between the soldier and the control tower. It basically confirms that you have completed the mission and that the incident will be kept from public knowledge.. blah blah blah.. Just like the ending of some low budget army film.
COMMENTS:
Neil: Ok, there’s an ending, but I don’t like it. Just like the ending, I wish this game was kept from the public too. 2/10.
Vinny: I agree with Neil that the game is a little dire to say the least, but I’m going to score the ending a little higher just to balance it out because I think it’s worthy of a few more points. 5/10 from me.
Gaz Spence: You know, I think my uncle bought me a C64 on my 13th birthday or thereabouts. How time flies, eh?
The game is beyond amateurish – like a project undertaken by work experience youths who didn’t really what to be there. Some of the US coin-op conversions are irredeemably bad and Ikari Warriors III falls squarely into that camp. I suppose it’s something that an attempt at and ending sequence is there but the graphics are like a child’s attempt at an abstract painting so I think a 3.5 rating is bordering on the generous.
Andy Vaisey: What’s worse here: the game or the ending?
Brendan Phoenix: Awful game – attempted to play this….once. No redeeming features at all. However that maybe is a lie, the ending is ok-ish.
The game however, graphics, sonics, controls, you name it, are all beyond terrible.
Andrew Fisher: Compared to John Twiddy’s Ikari, this game is utter rubbish. While I like the idea behind the ending, it’s as ramshackle as the rest of the game.
FINAL SAY: I hate this game – and the ending sucks too.

G.E. RATING: 3.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, I. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ikari III: The Rescue by SNK

  1. Like with Cisco Heat and Double Dragon, a reasonable (and thus wasted) ending to a game so irredeemably awful one wonders the company was prepared to chance its reputation releasing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

