Garrison by Rainbow Arts


garrisongamePublisher: Rainbow Arts
Developer: Rainbow Arts
Release Date: 1988
Code: Jörn Galka
GFX: M. Drechsel
Music: Ramiro Vaca, Chris Hülsbeck
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 79%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Here’s a game that takes me back to the first days of the Amiga…
Garrison by Rainbow Arts is one of the first games I played on the C64’s big brother. At the time I was impressed with the graphics and didn’t know that it was released on the C64. It’s the most blatant clone of Gauntlet that I have ever seen. Apart from the change of name there’s hardly any other difference.
There are stacks of levels (many of which repeat), so the action does get tiresome. I was never a fan of these games or even the arcade original of Gauntlet itself, so I was never going to like this game. There’s very little wrong with it though – just not my cup of tea…
garrison1
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I used a trained version with a level skip. It saved me a lot of pain and boredom.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: The ending is simply a modified version of the title screen. A silver screen displays the following message: ‘CONGRATULATIONS! YOU COMPLETED ALL LEVELS, BUT DID YOU RESCUE ANGELIQUE? PRESS SPACEBAR‘. The title page music plays also, which is quite a neat little tune.
COMMENTS:
Neil: Thought this one would have nothing at the end of it as levels repeat throughout the game – so I was a little shocked. 1.5/10.
Vinny: It’s a decent rip-off, but ultimately very dull.
…and that dull-ness filters into the ending. So much could have been done with this ending, but the coder decided to take the easy way out and produce a sub-standard text message ending! 1/10 from me.
Brendan Phoenix: Never really enjoyed these dungeon crawlers though, this, Gauntlet, Dandy (did we ever get to solve that ending?) Ranarama, etc.
At least this has an ending – I don’t think Gauntlet has (may be wrong)
Is there a different ending if you rescued Angelique I wonder?
Andrew Fisher: While I like Gauntlet I never tried this one.
Awful end screen – a slap in the face to anyone that persevered with it.
Andy Vaisey: Aware of the game, never saw or played it though. Good job too. Would have been unhappy with that pile o’ poop ending…
Gaz Spence: I never really got the appeal of Gauntlet so this was never on my list of games to track down. At least now I know that the ending is seriously pants.
FINAL SAY: There’s not a lot to it really, and who the hell is Angelique?!?

G.E. RATING: 1.5 / 10

This entry was posted in G, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garrison by Rainbow Arts

  1. Romppainen says:

    Angelique is the princess you’re supposed to save by salvaging a magical healing herb from the castle. Text in back cover mention collecting just right objects and finding a right way, and hints that teamwork is required to find the herb, so there might be more to achieve – maybe its completable properly only in 2-player mode or there are certain events in the middle of the gameplay the levelskip cheat doesn’t take into consideration? Who knows, I’m not masochistic enough to rush thru all 128 levels in traditional way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

