Uninvited by Mindscape


uninvited_01Publisher: Mindscape
Developer: Icom Simulations
Release Date: 1988
Code: Unknown
GFX: Unknown
Music: Unknown
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 72%
Completed & Reviewed by Brendan Phoenix

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Uninvited has you waking from a car crash to find that your little brother is missing, at which point you set off to find him. Just an excuse to set an adventure in a big scary house with plenty of demons. The interface is good, point and click with limited text commands. There is no in-game music and very sparse spot FX.
A pretty enjoyable game to be honest – always wanted to play this one through, but I have to admit I doubt I would have completed it, some pretty obscure puzzles in there…
uninvited1
Just ‘click to continue’ and the Demon dies!
uninvited2
YIKES!
uninvited3
He’s gone! Quick – make a dash for the window…
uninvited5
YOU FOUND HIM!
uninvited6
Bless.
uninvited7
Okay already!
uninvited8
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I hold my hands up – I did have the help from a walkthrough on this, although I have to say I use the word help lightly. It was a terrible walkthrough. Most annoyingly it tells you to drop a cage before you enter this labyrinth (which was a pain to get through) at the end you need to capture a bird in a cage – the same BLOODY cage I left at the start of the maze. Very annoying. Were also other errors regarding incorrect rooms, etc. Anyway, got there in the end.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: I have started the ending from where I used a cross on the demon, all you need to do then is double click the window to escape. You find your brother sitting on a fence and all is happy again. We are even treated to an end game tune – seeing as there is no music in game this is special! Even better, you then get to type your name into a certificate, this would then be printed off. Unsure what this would look like as I do not have a working printer at the moment (and unsure how to get it working through VICE anyway) it would be nice to see though.
COMMENTS:
Brendan: With the addition of an end tune, end pic, epilogue and printed certificate, I would be prepared to give it a 7/10.
Vinny: I’ve never played this game because, as I am sure you are all aware by now, that I hate RPGs. I don’t know what it is, but they have never seemed to have captured my imagination. Anyway – this game doesn’t ring any bells, but I have since checked it out so that I can at least have an understanding as to what I am referring to. Yep – I was right. It’s cack! But strangely enough, the ending has something to offer…
As Brendan pointed out, this ending does offer those elements that go to make a good ending. They’re not perfect by an means, but they are there. I’m going to give it 6/10.
Neil Collins: Not a bad ending to this game. I think the score is just right for it. I never played this back in the day, but it did look quite interesting – and I’m a fan of this genre. Reminds me of Shadowgate on the Amiga which had a similar GUI. Well done to Bren for playing it through. I did start, but got bored quite quickly as the walkthrough I found seemed to have a few errors – and I wasn’t in the mood to persist with this one.
Andy Vaisey: This is what I love about the C64Endings site. Not only do you get to see endings that you’ve never seen before, but now and again, it throws up the odd game that you’ve never heard of; it doesn’t matter if it’s a good or bad game/ending, it’s always nice to see something you’ve never seen before.
On this occasion, this is one of them games I’ve never heard of, but might give a go as a result. Not a bad ending. Not great, but not bad…
Gaz Spence: Not bad closure for what amounts to a glorified text adventure! The game has a kind of oldskool IBM CGA look to it, which I admire.
Andrew Fisher: The interface reminds me of the game Deja Vu. And this is an interesting ending, although the music is quite poor. 4/10.
FINAL SAY: I think the little extra touches pushes it to an above average score for me…

G.E. RATING: 6.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, U. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

