Taskmaster by Creative Sparks


taskmastergamePublisher: Creative Sparks
Developer: Thorn Emi
Release Date: 1985
Code: Steve Wiggins
GFX: Steve Wiggins
Music: n/a
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 77%
Our Game Rating: 77%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
I hate Taskmaster. My mum bought this for me when I was a kid – probably because it was cheap or on sale. I hated it because I wanted another game, but instead I had to make do with Taskmaster. I still feel creeped out playing it today, as it invokes memories of being very frustrated playing this as a kid. The game is very simple, but quite a challenge. There are seven levels to play through to free the princess. I think I got to the fifth or sixth as a kid, but could never complete it. You just have to stay alive and blast all the creatures that come onto the screen for a period of time. Sounds much easier than it is…
taskmaster1
Level 6 is finally complete!
taskmaster2
Ooooo… time to meet up with the Princess.
taskmaster3
It’s the King!
taskmaster4
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Using an invincibility cheat. There’s no way I was gonna put myself through the hell of playing this one again.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: After killing all the birdmen on the final level, you get a well done message, and are told to collect your prize – Princess Kelly. Our hero is then displayed in a throne room with the princess. They both approach the king and kneel before him. The game then ends.
COMMENTS:
Neil: A big surprise this. I thought it would just be a simple ‘Well done’ message. The end is pretty good considering the game is crap. I still hate it though. Damn you Taskmaster! 5/10.
Vinny: Fortunately, I’ve never heard of, seen, nor played this game and so judging by what Neil is saying, I’m not missing much. Taskmaster appears to be a totally cack game, but for some reason it has a convincing enough game ending! A bit of a rarity as I’m sure you can appreciate… 5/10 from me too.
Andrew Fisher: I have vague memories of playing it, but not for long… I like the ending, nice to see some effort going into it.
Gaz Spence: A rare case of an early game with a good ending. The epilogue and short animated sequence gets my thumbs up!
Brendan Phoenix: Two thumbs up here as well, great little animated ending from this oldie.
FINAL SAY: Cack game, good ending!

G.E. RATING: 5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, T. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

