Samurai Warrior: The Battles of Usagi Yojimbo by Firebird


usagi_yojimbo_01Publisher: Firebird
Developer: Beam Software
Release Date: 1988
Code: Unknown
GFX: Unknown
Music: Neil Brennan
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 91%
Our Game Rating: 90%
Completed & Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Now here’s a cool game that I didn’t get into until years after its release. I remember people making a real fuss of it, but I didn’t pay much attention to it all and so I missed out on the initial buzz. Playing it today, it really is a cool game with some fab graphics and game play. It reminds me of Fist II and Fighting Warrior, which were also created by Beam Software. Anyway, take a peek at the ending…
samuraiwarrior11
“KICK HIS ARSE!”
samuraiwarrior12
“GOTCHA!”
samuraiwarrior13
“Where d’he go?”
samuraiwarrior14
Cue the Sunset Scene.
samuraiwarrior15
Peace at last 🙂
samuraiwarrior16
ZZzzzzz zzz z   z    z
samuraiwarrior17
ZZzzzzz zzz z   z    z
samuraiwarrior18
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I used a trained version by REMEMBER, which game me tons of cheats. I also played through at a speed of 500%, which enabled me to complete the game in about 2-3 mins.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you have battered the final boss, the ickle Princess thanks you: “NOBEL SAMURAI, THANKYOU FOR SAVING ME.” You are then transported to an idyllic scene, which is set in front of a sunset and a Japanese lake. The sun descends into the distance, and the world is at peace once more.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: I must say that I wasn’t really expecting too much of an ending to this game. I know what Beam Software are like with their endings (check out Fist 2 and Fighting Warrior). Saying that, it’s pleasing enough, and the ending tune really reminds me of the music in Fist II. Though it is a little short.
Brendan Phoenix: It’s a blink and you miss it ending, if they had slowed it down perhaps, bit more ending music and an epilogue, it would have been ok. I’ll knock it down to 4/10.
Kungfufurby: Short. Yet somewhat suitable…
Andy Vaisey: Nice enough game, nice enough ending. Too short, but nice enough. Would have been nicer longer, but as it stands, nice enough. If you get what I mean. In a nice sort of way.
FINAL SAY: It’s worth a look if you haven’t seen it.

G.E. RATING: 5.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, S. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

