Warlok by Calisto Software


warlokgamePublisher: Calisto Software
Developer: As above
Release Date: 1984
Code: Dave Thomas
GFX: Dave Thomas
Music: N/A
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 64%
Our Game Rating: 64%
Completed by Neil Collins & Vinny Mainolfi
Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video

Warlok by Callisto Software is a basic shoot-em-up from 1984 in the style of the arcade classic Scramble. It’s not very exciting, and features basic graphics and simple gameplay but it does the job if you like this kind of thing. There’s not a lot else to say apart from the fact that there are four tricky levels to beat to complete it…

warlok-1
Level 4, stage 4 is complete!
warlokANIM
Really?!
warlok-2
That’s it!
warlok-4
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?:
Neil: I played through it on an emulator and saved my position as I made my way past tricky sections of the game.
Vinny: I stumbled on this game when looking for something to crazy hack, and the first thing I hacked was the game ending:
– LDA #$24 (Level 4)
– STA $CFF8 (Location of level counter)
– JMP $CF05 (Jump to ending location)
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Hardly anything. A short text message appears to say ‘CONGRATULATIONS.. YOU HAVE COMPLETED.. LEVEL 4‘. The game then ends and takes you to the high score table.
COMMENTS:
Neil: I missed the ending first time around because I blinked – as it was that short! One of the poorest endings I’ve ever seen. 0.5/10.
Vinny: As I mentioned above, I was looking for a game to crazy hack and I stumbled on this oldie. It’s a tough Scramble style game that definitely shows its age.
As for the ending… I don’t think we could have expected any more… what with its age and style of game. 0.5/10 from me too.
Andrew Fisher: Is that by the Dave Thomas who would go on to write Buggy Boy and Staff of Karnath?
Tough on the eyes.
FINAL SAY: Complete and utter garbage.

G.E. RATING: 0.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, W. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

