Velocipede II by Players


velocipede_2_01Publisher: Players
Developer: Players
Release Date: 1986
Code: Karl Hörnell
GFX: Karl Hörnell
Music: Karl Hörnell
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 36%
Our Game Rating: 75%
Completed & Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Here’s an ending that I wasn’t really looking for; I started looking through the game’s code to create one of my Hackersoft crazy hacks (see  http://www.hackersoft.co.uk) when I created a level-skip cheat that took me through the whole game and to the ending. Result!
A sequel to Velocipede – which incidentally had no ending – this game follows the same theme of riding through scrolling levels and dodging nasties, but in this game the main character rides on a unicycle. I love these old Player’s games and so this is my kind of game. So what of the ending…
velocipede2-1
The final level is complete…
velocipede2-2
and our hero is off to sort out his squished knackers.
velocipede2ANIM
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: As I said – I hacked this one whilst building a crazy hack.
Just an additional note: It seems that the game is controlled by BASIC! I too a look at the listing and I found this (see screenshot below) at the end. Looks like it’s the high score entry controller that changes a name if you type a specific name in…

velocipedecheats

High score name replacements.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you have completed the third level, the ending screen appears with the message: “REMARKABLE!! YOU MADE IT ALL THE WAY HOME! AS A BONUS YOU NOW RECEIVE 10000 POINTS. PRESS BUTTON TO START ALL OVER AGAIN”. This is accompanied by a row of ‘gulping’ frogs and also an ending tune.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: To be totally honest, I was pleasantly surprised to see an ending seeing that the first game just looped round and round. It’s a nice little ending with a message, some animation and also an ending tune. 4/10 from me.
Brendan Phoenix: Bit of a David Coleman moment there (Remarkable!)
Not a bad little cheapo ending. Good work on the ending hack.
Frank Gasking: Nice to see something at the end of the game, rather than nothing at all! … but it was great to learn about the game being controlled by bits of BASIC.
Not a bad ending overall, and glad it doesn’t just loop like most do!
Karl Hörnell (programmer of this game!): It felt a little weird to read the comments and reviews on your site. I hadn’t thought anyone would ever bother to analyze the endings to my games. I guess I could have put some more thought into that part, but quite often the games ended up a lot more difficult than I intended, and it seemed wasteful to spend scarce memory resources on something that perhaps nobody would get to see anyway.
FINAL SAY: Pleasantly surprised that it actually has an ending!

G.E. RATING: 4 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, V. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

