Olli & Lissa 3: The Candlelight Adventure by Codemasters


olli_and_lissa_3_-_the_candlelight_adventure_01Publisher: Codemasters
Developer: Codemasters
Release Date: 1990
Code: Simon Clarke
GFX: Unknown
Music By: Unknown
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 84%
Our Game Rating: 82%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to Download my Crazy Hack file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Olli & Lissa 3: The Candlelight Adventure is a platform game by Codemasters. The aim of the game is to collect parts of a car which are scattered through the castle, so that our hero Olli can assemble it in time to take Lissa on a picnic. The graphics are monochrome but quite detailed in a style similar to that of the Magic Knight series by Mastertronic. Controlling Olli is quite awkward and moving down stairs is a bit different to normal. The castle is huge and very complicated to navigate, which is done through doors and elevators which have a strange way of connecting. It will take you a long time to know your way around and discover where the items are that you need to complete your quest. This makes the game very difficult and takes too long to play in order to beat it.
olliandlissa31
The car is now working!
olliandlissa32
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I played it and saved my progress as I found the car parts. It took a long time to master the castle layout. (“I’ve since created a crazy hack for this game that gives you a whole host of features including a cheat to jump straight to the ending. Download it from  HERE” – Vinny).
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once all parts of the car have been assembled our hero winks and the game is beaten. A final screen shows a letter from Lissa thanking Olli for the romantic picnic and for being a nice guy and a great mechanic.
COMMENTS:
Neil: Lots of hard work put in for a very basic ending.
Vinny: If I was very honest, I’d already seen this ending before it was submitted; I hacked it, but I wanted someone to play it through first to make sure I had the actual ending. I was hoping that my hacked version was wrong and that there was more to the ending 😦 What a poor, poor show.
Brendan Phoenix: Complete lack of imagination. Codemasters have previous for this type of ending.
FINAL SAY: Such a shame. I was hoping for more at the end of this one.

G.E. RATING: 2 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, O. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Olli & Lissa 3: The Candlelight Adventure by Codemasters

  1. Nice and unusually fast hi-res graphics, but I could never get on with this one due to the controls (and death came very easily with a few simple slips). Glad I never put any extreme effort in now…

    Like

  2. gugameseu says:

    Wow, what a disappointing ending. I’m happy I never lost too much time trying to finish it

    Like

Leave a Reply

