Nemesis: The Final Challenge by Konami


nemesis_(konami)_01Publisher: Konami
Developer: Konami
Release Date: 1986
Code: Simon Pick
GFX: Stu Jackson
Music: Adam Gilmore
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 80%
Our Game Rating: 86%
Completed & Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
In my opinion, Nemesis (AKA Gradius) is a blooming superb SEU game on the Commodore 64. I’ve never played it on the arcade, and so I don’t have anything to compare it to; I just know that I thoroughly enjoyed playing it back in 1986, and I remember paying full price for it on the day of its release. It’s a cool shooter that really made my C64 game collection a little more complete. Unfortunately, I never managed to complete it back then, but after revisiting the game back in 2003, I managed to complete it with the help of a cheat – or two πŸ˜‰
nemesis1
The final boss.
nemesis2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Hmmm… I must have cheated because there was never going to be a time that I could complete it without them πŸ™‚
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you kill the final boss, the words: “YOU HAVE SAVED THE PEOPLE OF NEMESIS” appear on the screen with the smallest of visual effects you could possibly imagine.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: Oh how sad I was to see such a poor game ending to one of my favourite shooters 😦 Is this how the arcade version ends? Did Simon Pick run out of steam?
Brendan Phoenix: Cool game and a great conversion, however the ending does differ from the arcade version which is animated and shows the planet exploding (from memory).
Chris Rubio: Wow. I must have blinked when the boss exploded, because I surely didn’t see anything occur when you won (other than that tiny text message). Seriously, what just happened? Konami, you’re better than this! 1/10.
Andrew Fisher: I’m not a Gradius fan, but it was a decent conversion… ending is terrible though!
Kungfufurby: This ending is like Octopolis by English Software (one piece of text)… only it isn’t full screen and it has no music!
FINAL SAY: A seriously poor ending for such a cool game 😦

G.E. RATING: 1.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, N. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

