Magic Rufus by Alternative Software


magicrufusgamePublisher: Alternative Soft.
Developer: As above
Release Date: 1993
Code: Steve Metcalf
GFX: Steve Metcalf
Music: n/a
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 67%
Completed by Brendan Phoenix & Vinny Mainolfi
Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Magic Rufus is a quirky little platform game by Alternative software that features a strange blob like creature called Rufus. He is set with the task of rescuing the population of his village, which has been captured by some evil witches. They are trapped in small cages that are scattered throughout the eight levels. You need to release the specific amount of captives on each level to progress to the next. Throughout the game you can collect and buy spells and weapons, which are crucial to your quest. The levels are patrolled by various demons that re-spawn so you need to move quick to avoid energy loss.
The game looks nice and plays quite well once you have worked out what you need to do. The biggest drawback is the way that Rufus jumps, which is quite tricky and usually causes him to fall several levels – which is quite frustrating. It takes some getting used to but is worth the effort.
Not a bad little title this, so have a look at it if you get a chance…
magicrufus1
Level 8 is finally complete! The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?:
Neil: I used an infinite energy cheat.
Vinny: I was a sneaky sausage, and just froze the game using my Action Replay Cartridge, went to the Monitor Mode, and typed: G BD0A, which jumps you to the end sequence at $BD0A 🙂
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: There are eight levels to beat. Once you have saved the captives and exited the final level the game is complete and a small end sequence starts. A multicoloured strobe effect is shown in the centre of the screen while Rufus is displayed above and below it. A message in the centre reads ‘WELL DONE. YOU COMPLETED YOUR QUEST‘.
COMMENTS:
Neil: A cheery end to a decent little platform game. I enjoyed this one much more than I thought I would. 3/10.
Vinny: I’ve never bothered playing this game, but I may do now that I’m thinking about crazy hacking it 🙂 Anyway – something that struck me straight away when seeing the game restart after the ending, was the fact that the game has no music! I kept adjusting the volume on my speakers, but nothing came out. Then I realised that it had no music! It’s annoying because I know that there is a lot of space left in the game code and so there could have been plenty of tunes added 😦
As for the ending… it’s nice, but a little less than I expected. I was looking for some kind of animation. 3/10 from me too.
Andy Vaisey: Yeah, yeah, well done, blah, blah, blah…
Wish endings wouldn’t do/say that. I’d rather them just reset…
Andrew Fisher: I played the demo and did not enjoy it, so never bought the game. It was nowhere near as much fun as Reckless Rufus, and the ending is slightly less fun than having a tooth extracted…
Gaz Spence: I think I played this for a minute or two once and couldn’t get on with the really slow moving Rufus who seems to have the coordination of a tortoise on ketamine. I’ll have to take Neil’s word on it being an ok platformer but I have serious doubts… The ending is ok for a budget release I suppose but it didn’t do a lot for me.
FINAL SAY: Very colourful and cute. Not bad.

G.E. RATING: 3 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, M. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

