Last Battle by Elite


last_battle_01Publisher: Elite
Developer: Elite
Release Date: 1991
Code: Image Software Ltd
GFX: As above
Music: Neil Crossley
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 43%
Our Game Rating: 55%
Completed and Reviewed by Mariusz Mlynski

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
Last Battle was one of the first games I played on the C64, and whether I want it or not, some fond memories of mine are attached to it. I liked it back in the 90’s (and my brother broke a joystick on this game), but now that I have  played it again, I must admit that it’s rather mediocre. Fights become boring pretty quickly, the gameplay has undeniable flaws (with a stupid trial-and-error element), and the dialogues are among the dullest I have ever encountered in a computer game (I didn’t really pay attention to that in 1993, because I didn’t know English very well back then ;).
Let’s see about the ending…
lastbattle1
Shee-yit! He’s turned to GOLD!
lastbattle2
Ah! that’s better (“,)
lastbattle3
“This is the place where I die”
lastbattle5
“See ya!”
lastbattle6
WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSH!
lastbattle7
Strange colours!
lastbattle8
COOL! An animated horse and rider (“,)
lastbattle9
Sun Set.
lastbattle9a
A cloudy night …
lastbattle9b
… turns into a beautiful clear night with a sky full of starts – The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I played through 4 chapters that this game consists of, and defeated the main enemy – Garokk, twice in the last stage. I did use the unlimited life cheat, though, since I couldn’t afford to spend more time on this game to master it. It wouldn’t have been worth the effort, anyway. 🙂
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Defeated Garokk makes some not very inspired statement: “this is the place where I die” (as if it wasn’t obvious enough), says a farewell to our hero, and flies up the screen (hmmm, I always thought the hell was the other way?). Then we can see Aarzak majestically travelling on a horse across the saved land, as clouds move along, night falls, stars shine in the sky, etc. Finally, the chapter 1 is reloaded in case you’re a masochist and want to play it again.
COMMENTS:
Mariuz: Honestly, I had expected the worst (e.g. some more dialogues). 🙂 Actually, it isn’t bad at all, and the ending scene is quite atmospheric, accompanied with a nice tune composed by Neil Crossley. It gives you the feeling of a well-done job, without that “congratulations, now sit patiently and read the entire credits” stuff.
Vinny: I just wanted to back up Mariusz’s comments and say that I too enjoyed this rather cool ending – it looks and sounds good and is a very well produced ending. I would have given it 8/10.
FINAL SAY: An enjoyable ending 🙂

G.E. RATING: 8 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, L. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

