The Adventures of Basildon Bond by Probe Software


basildon_bond_01Publisher: Probe Software
Developer: Probe Software
Release Date: 1986
Code: Vakis Paraskeva
GFX: Unknown
Music: Unknown
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 43%
Our Game Rating: 62%
Completed by Inge Pedersen
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Here’s a game that gives me real closure… back in 1986 my late cousin, Carmelo, brought this game over to my house and we spent DAYS trying to complete it. He finally had to go home and left the game with me so that I could continue to play it. Unfortunately, no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t complete the bloody thing!
Nearly 25 years later, Inge Pedersen decided to hack his way to the ending – and why not! 🙂 So thanks to Inge for bringing this chapter to a close for me… and you…
basildonbond1
The final room.
basildonbond2
The screen disintegrates… literally!
basildonbond3
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Inge used a few hacks on this one, but in the end, there were only two bytes he had to alter to get through the last door.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you pass through the final door, the screen disintegrates and an ending message appears at the foot of the page, which reads: “CONGRATULATIONS. YOU HAVE A HIGH SCORE!! PLEASE ENTER YOUR NAME WITH JOYSTICK.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: Surely this can’t be the actual ending?!? All that time… for this!
Kungfufurby: This ending is not worthy… this is just a high score entry! Where’s the ending text?
Speaking of which, if that same message popped up when you got a Game Over, that would be a zero out of 10 in my books…
Brendan Phoenix: Is that seriously the ending? Nothing that could trigger something else? I’m in shock, I seriously cannot believe that this is the end. Surely there is something else? I’m devastated! Not that it was a good game – just that it was one of those games I always wanted to see the ending of.
I had it a compilation – can’t remember which – a Computer Hits one I think – I too was always stuck in this game.
Gutted with that shocking ending – saying you have a high score? Pah – not even an ending in my book.
Andrew Fisher: I had this on 10 Computer Hits 3 from Beau Jolly, while it was fun to see the characters onscreen it was a terrible game (one of the first by Probe Software). Never really got the hang of matching the jokes or using the objects, but I would have been terribly disappointed to get all that way for a simple message…
FINAL SAY: I can’t believe I spent all that time!!

G.E. RATING: 0.5 / 10

This entry was posted in A, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

