Vegas Jackpot by Mastertronic


vegasjackpotgamePublisher: Mastertronic
Developer: Mr. Chip Soft.
Release Date: 1984
Code: Shaun Southern
GFX: Shaun Southern
Music: Shaun Southern
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 70%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
I have no idea why I owned Vegas Jackpot by Mastertronic as a kid (“because it was only £1.99!” – Vinny). The local computer shop must have been short on budget games that week.
I don’t like fruit machines in general and I’ve never seen the point in playing something that pays out less than you put in it. The game itself is a decent enough representation of a gambling machine, without the loss of actual money – which is a good thing. It’s very simple: you put your cash in, you watch the reels spin and you lose money. Now and again you get a few quid back, but you mainly lose.
I remember reading that the aim of the game was to hit a specific amount of cash but I could never get anywhere near the total. Now years later I was determined to see if this was true. I suspected not…
vegasjackpotANIM1
Hmmmmm… fruity. The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I POKEd the code to bump my cash up when I was running low. Eventually I had £250 in the bank.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Hitting £250 triggers of a short reaction. A jolly jingle plays and the cash panel starts flashing red and yellow to indicate you have hit your target.
COMMENTS:
Neil: The ending is poor, but I’m quite happy to see some point to the game. I was certain this one didn’t have one. 1/10.
Vinny: I remember owning this game back in the day (I still have an original or two) because it was a game I could afford with a week’s pocket money. Even though the visuals and audio are pretty basic, it actually plays really well and is fun – especially if you enjoy the ‘thrill’ of fruit machines. It’s dated a little now, but it’s still worth a few goes now and again.
As for the ending… wow! I’m shocked it actually has one! For a 1984 budget title, this is quite a revelation! It has a seriously simple visual ending indicator (flashing block – red and yellow) and an ending ditty. I’m going to push the boat out on this one and give it 2/10 – mainly for effort. You never know… Shaun Southern could be watching 😉
Andrew Fisher: As computer fruit machines go, this one is quite good.
As endings go, that’s terrible!
Andy Vaisey: Never really saw the point in these types of games on a computer. However, didn’t stop me playing them; one of my favourites was on the Amiga on an Amiga Computing magazine coverdisk. I think it was called ‘Make Money’.
Consider my gob smacked that this even has an ‘ending’, never mind the quality.
Gaz Spence: The only ending with a fruit machine I had was an empty pocket. I’m equally surprised as you guys that this game tops out £250.
Carleton Handley: I loved this back in the day. It has the simplicity that matches the fruit machines from back then. They’re all so complicated these days, probably a blessing as I’d likely still waste money on them otherwise.
Brendan Phoenix: Nudge this ending out of the way!
FINAL SAY: Well I never! It did actually have an ending… of sorts.

G.E. RATING: 1.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, V. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

