Olli & Lissa – The Ghost of Shilmoore Castle by Firebird


olliandlissagamePublisher: Firebird
Developer: Firebird
Release Date: 1987
Code: Paul Johnson
GFX: Stephen Robertson
Music By: Ben Daglish
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 50%
Our Game Rating: 82%
Completed & Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to Download my Crazy Hack file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
There’s something comforting about Olli & Lissa by Firebird. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but it’s always one of those games I love to return to now and again just to reminisce and take it all in. Don’t get me wrong; it isn’t an amazing platformer with amazing game play and hundreds of screens – far from it. But it’s just a nicely constructed, if a little difficult, with a very homely feel to it. But believe it or not, I never got to complete it back in the day! For some reason, I found it very addictive, but OH-SO hard! I was always of the mind that budget games were easy! How wrong I was with this little one (“,)
Now, MANY years on, I finally get to see the end and unfortunately for me, it isn’t much cop …
olli&lissa1
‘GAME OVER’ – obvious or WHAT?!
olli&lissa2
Strange goings-on on this screen!
olli&lissa3
PLOP! The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I had a cracked version, which let me skip all the levels to the game ending.
15/02/14: I’ve since created a crazy hack for this game that gives you a whole host of features including a cheat to jump straight to the ending. Download it from HERE.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: When you complete the game, you get the ‘GAME OVER‘ screen, and THEN you get the ‘CONGRATULATIONS‘ screen with an image of Sir Humphrey who finally becomes an invisible ghost and scares away Eugene Port-Cullis, who wanted to take Sir Humphrey’s castle to the U.S. Typical Yank 😉
COMMENTS:
Vinny: There is a game ending here, but it isn’t much cop and could have done with a better epilogue and also an ending tune. 3/10 from me.
Andrew Fisher: The game is not one I’m fond of. I played it on the Beau Jolly Chartbusters compilation, packed with budget games of varying quality. Although I find the graphics quite cute, the game play is rather tough and unrewarding – particularly trekking back and forth to the cauldron.
The ending is not particularly great, simple colour effect followed by a little bit of animation.
The one mystery I never solved – what happened to the C64 version of Olli & Lissa 2?
Brendan Phoenix: I find this frustrating too – pixel perfect jumps or back to the start. Always found it a little speccy-esque as well.
Andy Vaisey: Multicoloured stuff and a congratulations doth not an ending make. Poor.
Gaz Spence: I usually recoil in horror when I see Speecy ports and this game is no exception. The ending is distinctly average.
FINAL SAY: Whoooosh; it’s gone!

G.E. RATING: 3 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, O. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

