Canon Rider by Ariolasoft


canonridergamePublisher: Ariolasoft
Developer: Jim Blackler
Release Date: 1989
Code: Rainer Weingärtner, René Udert
GFX: Unknown
Music: René Udert
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 71%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Canonrider by Ariolasoft is a game that I switched off after only a few minutes playing. I found it too difficult and couldn’t get any further than the first few screens; I didn’t have the patience to persevere…
Jump forward a few years and I decided to have another crack at it and found it to be better than I first thought. It’s still very tough, and even infinite lives will still leave you with a challenge.
You control a lad sat on a cannonball – a bit strange, but that’s how it is. Your aim seems to be to locate eight bags of gunpowder and find the large canon. There are plenty of little puzzles to solve, which usually means collecting a specific object that destroys an obstacle that blocks your path and prevents you from accessing further rooms in the castle. You may need to map the castle too as there are tons of similar looking rooms with nasties everywhere. It’s fun once you understand it and get into it, but it does get rather dull…
canonrider-1
The ending begins…
canonrider-2
Our hero gets off his cannonball…
canonrider-7
…and lobs it into the cannon.
canonrider-8
Bullseye!
canonrider-9
He takes a walk over to the other side…
canonrider-10
He waits for you to press the FIRE BUTTON…
canonrider-3
CRACK!
canonrider-4
Whoooooosh!
canonrider-5
BA-BOOOOOOOM!
canonrider-6
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I solved all of the puzzles but had problems with the gunpowder part so I poked the value up to eight and then went to the canon room. I only cheated a little this time.. He he
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: The ending is a short animated sequence which shows the canon rider get off the the cannonball, which then gets inserted into the end of the canon. He then walks behind the canon and when you press the fire button the cannonball is fired. Sparks are seen near the end of the canon and the ball shoots across the screen. A large block appears with the words ‘WELL DONE‘ on it. The words flicker various colours and the game restarts on pressing the fire button.
COMMENTS:
Neil: It’s original, it’s animated, it’s a bit odd but it’s an ending nevertheless. It’s not great, but it’s not that bad. 5/10.
Vinny: I must say – I’m pleasantly surprised how much I like this game. When I first saw the screenshots from what Neil sent me I wasn’t to impressed. But when I fired up the game, had a play and then took a look at the ending, I thought that this is a game for me. Plenty to explore.
With regards to the ending… I’m really shocked because the coder actually took some time and effort to produce a cool ending. It’s not brilliant, but it is good. 6/10 from me – one more point than Neil’s score just for the effort 🙂
Andrew Fisher: That is a nicely done ending to an interesting game.
Gaz Spence: You have to admire the amount of work that went in to the design and execution of the game and for once the good aspects are carried through to the ending.
Andy Vaisey: While not exactly ‘wow’, I appreciate that some effort has gone into this ending. If only more coders did something similar…
FINAL SAY: Insert your own cannonball pun here.

G.E. RATING: 5.5 / 10

This entry was posted in C, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

