The Fifth Axis by Activision


fifth_axis_01Publisher: Activision
Developer: Loriciels
Release Date: 1986
Code: Didier & Oliver Guillion
GFX: As above
Music: Gilles Soulet
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 70%
Our Game Rating: 74%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
The Fifth Axis by Activision is a game that never really interested me. I’d seen it being played years ago and just thought it was a rather dull game with animation ripped off from Impossible Mission. It’s a simple collect and dodge game where you have to keep gathering enough artefacts to enable you to play a sub-level where you can try and gain a piece of a time machine. The aim is to collect all pieces to win the game. It’s a pretty dull affair with monochrome graphics and repetitive game play. It’s also way too hard.
5thaxis1
Nearly there…
5thaxis2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I played a cracked version which gave me infinite energy. Unfortunately, when you complete later levels you get added energy which causes the counter to reset and kill you. So I had to poke about in the code to stop this from happening.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: The ending shows the completed time machine as a single colour graphic at the top of the screen. The words below it read ‘VECTORIAL PROPULSION SYSTEM (C) 2410 PROF. CHRONOS. ANACHRONON RETRIEVED. DISCONNECTING IN 5 SECONDS…‘. Small dots appear at the bottom of the screen as the countdown begins. After the countdown a new message appears which reads ‘WELL DONE CITIZEN ! YOU HAVE ACCOMPLISHED YOUR MISSION AND SAVED THE UNIVERSE !‘. The border then flashes various colours before the game restarts.
COMMENTS:
Neil: It’s not spectacular but worth a quick look. I really expected a basic ‘WELL DONE’ message. This is slightly better than that.
Vinny: I’ve never played this game and so there’s not much I can say about it. All I can say is that I enjoyed the title tune by Gilles Soulet. It’s not a brilliant tune by any means, but there is something about it that really appeals to me. It’s a pity he didn’t create a lot more tunes for the Commodore 64 as there is definitely potential there for a cool C64 musician.
The ending is a little boring. It could have done with a longer epilogue, some cool music (by Gilles) and smarter graphics. A real let down. 2.5/10 from me.
Andy Vaisey: Never liked this. I hated the GFX but persevered, but couldn’t help constantly think, “I’d rather play Impossible Mission”, before I gave up; thank goodness I only borrowed it from a mate. That was many years ago and this rubbish ending does nothing to convince me in the present that it was worthy of my further attention back then.
Brendan Phoenix: Any ending that puts loading bars in as a ‘special effect’ needs to be deducted points!
Andrew Fisher: Not familiar with the game, but a very simplistic ending.
Gaz Spence: Julian Rignall had a semi about this, judging by his comments in the Zzap! review. Can’t see anything in the game myself though and the ending is merde.
FINAL SAY: Not that impressed, but a little better than I expected.

G.E. RATING: 3 / 10

This entry was posted in F, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

