ZUB by MAD / Mastertronic Added Dimension


zub_01Publisher: MAD/Mastertronic
Developer: Binary Design
Release Date: 1986
Code: Sarge
GFX: Ste Pickford
Music: David Whittaker
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 38%
Our Game Rating: 76%
Completed by Brendan Phoenix
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to Download my Crazy Hack file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Being the massive Mastertronic Fan that I was, I wasn’t going to let this one pass through my net even though ZZAP64 magazine gave it a seriously low score of 38 percent. I found the game very enjoyable and it had a unique kind of feel to it. The only downside to the game is that it was, and still is, terribly hard 😦
Thanks to Brendan Phoenix for completing it…
zub
The End!
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I think Brendan cheated 🙂 (Vinny: I have since created a crazy hack for this game so that you can easily view the ending as well as play with a whole host of other new in-game features. Download it from here.)
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: You complete final level and the final ending message appears, which reads: “ZUB HAS COMPLETED HIS TASK AND KING ZUB AWARDS HIS GREATEST HONOUR…. EXECUTION AT DAWN…..“. There is a very short ending ditty by David Whittaker.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: I purchased this game on the day that it was released even though the ZZAP64 review salted it. I actually found the game quite pleasant, but terribly hard. Needless to say that I never actually managed to complete the game and so this is the first time I have seen the ending. Unfortunately, it’s very poor and I feel a little let down.
Brendan Phoenix: Completed without cheats as well – nothing, no infinite energy or anything – just a multitude of save states (pretty sure there were no trained versions available). I remember my energy getting really low and thinking Im not going to do this. Never managed to get far on it back in the day – think I got it in my Xmas stocking (I must have been bad that year!). A very poor ending – not like the game is full of great graphics and sound – I’m sure there was some memory free for an animated sequence, no matter how small (see Excalibur). They could have shown Zub being executed – that would have made the effort worth while!
Andrew Fisher: Never played it after the poor review it got in ZZAP!, has a good reputation with the Spectrum mob because it was programmed by the Pickfords. At least it has music, but a text screen is poor (as ever).
Andy Vaisey: Blah, waffle, stuff… poor game, poor ending. Nuff said.
FINAL SAY: Nothing much to write home about.

G.E. RATING: 1.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, Z. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

