Zaga by Kingsoft


zagagamePublisher: Kingsoft
Developer: Kingsoft
Release Date: 1984
Creator: Henrik Wening
GFX: Unknown
Music: N/A
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 72%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Zaga by Kingsoft is a 3D(!) helicopter game in the style of Zaxxon. I’d never heard about this one until I saw a question about it on the Lemon64 forum. Somebody asked if it had an end, so I decided I was the man for the job of finding out…
The game looks very much like Zaxxon, but you control a helicopter and there are no enemies. The only things that can kill you are the walls or if you run out of fuel. It’s a case of carefully navigating the course by flying over walls and through windows until you reach the end. You can stop for extra fuel at designated spots but they are few and far between. The graphics are ok, and it handles well but the gameplay is pretty slow and dull. It’s also very tricky so you need to get your angles spot on to get through tight areas.
It may leave you frustrated but I’m sure practice will get you quite far in this game. It’s not a bad variation of Zaxxon so it’s worth a look.
zaga1
The End.
zaga2
Definitely the end.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I carefully worked my way through the course and saved my position as I made it through difficult parts.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: As you finish the course you see the words ‘THE END’ displayed on the ground in large letters. A little after that there is a landing pad for you to finally set your helicopter down upon. The word ‘ZAGA‘ is also written on the ground next to the landing pad in large letters. Once your helicopter is safely landed, the words ‘THE END‘ appear on a small panel at the bottom of the screen. An odd out-of-tune flurry of notes play to indicate that the game is beaten.
COMMENTS:
Neil: It’s the most basic of endings. The jingle at the end is terrible too. Don’t waste your time on Zaga – play Zaxxon instead. 1/10.
Vinny: I’ve never actually played this game, but I’ interested in having a look because I love ZAXXON.
As for the ending… I wasn’t expecting anything and so it’s a bonus to me. I’d give it 2/10… though the ending ditty is horrendous!!
FINAL SAY: That was awful. A very poor ending.

G.E. RATING: 1.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, Z. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

