Wallie goes to Rhymeland by Interceptor


walliePublisher: Interceptor Soft.
Developer: Interceptor Soft.
Release Date: 1984
Code: Andrew Challis
GFX: Unknown
Music: Graham Hansford
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 76%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Wallie goes to Rhymeland by Interceptor is a game I’d seen in the past but never played. It’s a strange side-scrolling action game interlaced with single screen platform levels, where you take control of an odd character called Wallie. Graphically it’s very basic with simple sprites and poor animation. It was fun to play for a few minutes, but it really is a poor game that offers no originality. As you would expect, it’s quite tough so I’m glad I had an emulator to help me beat this one.
walliegoestorhymeland2
Oh look…
walliegoestorhymeland3
…The End!
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I saved my game as I progressed. After a few levels I reached the end.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: The ending is just a simple black screen with coloured text which reads ‘WHAT A JAMMIE EFFORT! …. NOW DO IT AGAIN!‘.
COMMENTS:
Neil: Ha ha ha. That is soooooo bad. It’s actually pretty funny. 1/10.
Vinny: The ‘Wallie’ collection of games is a bit of a mystery to me… Back in the day, I would always come across a ‘Wallie’ advert in C&VG magazine and not really take any notice – it just didn’t grab my attention. Then one day a friend of mine produced a C90 tape of copied games, and as I went through them I stumbled upon one called ‘Trollie Wallie’. I was instantly hooked! I loved the game play, the sprites, the music… it was great! But what I didn’t realise, until 25 years later, was that there were MORE ‘Wallie’ games…
I do wonder some times what the programmers from back in the day actually thought whilst coding their games. Was it all about getting the game out and making money; or was it about producing the best game ever and making loads of money? Because you’d think that they would at least set some time aside to make the game worth playing all the way through and produce an ending to be proud of! Obviously, this is not the case for this game. 0.5/10 from me 😦
Andrew Fisher: The programmer obviously felt the buying public were wallies and would be happy with such a terrible ending… Interceptor made a living out of clones and simple games.
Brendan Phoenix: Don’t hear the word ‘jammie’ a lot now! Only thing that raised a smile.
Gaz Spence: Wallie needs to go to the good ending school tbh.
FINAL SAY: A really poor ending with a daft, yet original message I suppose. It’s one to forget about.

G.E. RATING: 1 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, W. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

