Valhalla by Legend


valhalla_01Publisher: Legend
Developer: Legend
Release Date: 1984
Code: G. Asher, R. Edwards, C. Goodwin, J. Ostler
GFX: As above
Music: As above
ZZAP 64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 85%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
I played this for hours as a kid on the Spectrum and C64. I had no idea what to do – I just liked to collect weapons, beat people up and order characters to fight each other. The C64 version looks very much like the Spectrum version. The graphics and sound are very basic and the game is quite slow, but it’s worth playing once you get into it. You enter commands at the bottom of the screen as you would in a text based adventure.
Valhalla is a strange RPG type game based on Norse mythology. The point of the game is to complete six tasks, which means wandering the lands in search of the six special items. It is at times very frustrating as some characters defy your commands, or other characters appear to ruin your plans. It is also at times very chaotic, but fun at the same time. You will get frustrated and end up typing swear words into the computer (“as you do” – Vinny), such as ‘Thor pick up the f*****g key!’. When you do this, Mary appears and punches you in the stomach. I used to do this quite a lot as a kid, just for fun…
valhalla1
The final command is entered…
valhalla2
…and the ending begins.
valhalla3
A visitor!
valhalla4
“BYE!”
valhalla5
And another!
valhalla6
“BYE BYE!”
valhalla7
ANOTHER?!
valhalla8
“BYE!”
valhalla9
…and on it goes. The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Using a solution I found on a Spectrum website and approx 50 saved games.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you have collected the final item, you have to return to the great hall of Valhalla. If you have completed all the tasks successfully, all the computer characters from within the game walk onto the screen and congratulate you one by one. The game then just keeps on going.
COMMENTS:
Neil: It’s a decent enough end for such an old game that was partly programmed in BASIC. I’m glad this one is over. It was very frustrating to beat. 4/10.
Vinny: Heh-heh… a cute little ending. I suppose for a game ending from 1984, it’s quite good! I did expect it to do much apart from display some ending text, so this is a bonus. It gets 4/10 from me too.
Kungfufurby: This ending is like a congratulatory party… only without so many people on screen at once. I wish it had something other than this… but they did bother putting walking animations in there. Actually, it’s quite interesting that they did that…
Andrew Fisher: I did enjoy playing Valhalla, years after the hype of the adverts and reviews had faded. The end sums up the game – limited interaction, the flickering of the split between bitmap and text display and a feeling that games could get better in the future…
Brendan Phoenix: I still have the big box of this somewhere.
I remember it taking an age to load, really never thought I would see the ending to this. Can’t really expect more from such an early game. So the ending is ok with me.
Andy Vaisey: Why on earth split a screen if you’re not going to show off rock solid splits? That’s so off-putting.
I’m, like, watching each character walk on to the screen using a Monty Python silly walk, but out the corner of my eye watching the split flicker, then reading the message, while watching the split flicker, then watching the character leave, while watching that bloody split flicker.
Also, the funny thing is, for it’s age, the walk animation (other than being silly) isn’t too bad, but why spoil it with THAT BLOODY FLICKER?
The ending is crud.
Frank Gasking: Just seen the Valhalla ending, and that game really takes me back!… It was one of the games my sister had with her C64 (When I very first sampled games for the first time). I loved the novella in it with the pictures and character descriptions and used to do all the swearing to get Mary on the screen. Pain in the arse to play!
I have quite a funny story related to it which I thought I’d share, but basically my brother-in-law Colin had spent a few years trying to complete the game, getting photo copies of tips from various magazines of the time (which I found in a bag with the rest of the games). He got very frustrated that he never managed to crack it like The Hobbit. Anyway, when I got my C64 around 1990 time – I borrowed it a few times and had a brilliant idea to make out that I managed to complete the game. So I made out to my parents that I was playing the game pretty much non-stop one day, saying I was close to finishing it. Then I just took the C64 BASIC screen and deleted the text and put in “Well done, you have completed Valhalla” (probably complete with spelling mistakes at the time). Thing was, I didn’t know how to stop the cursor blinking so it had a Syntax Error underneath with the Ready prompt. I called mum up to see my efforts and be the confirmer that I had in-fact “completed” the game. Colin was really pissed off that a 8yr old managed to beat the game. I think he’s pretty much believed that I completed it ever since (though I did recently admit to mum that I had faked it 😉 )
FINAL SAY: The end was better than I thought it would be. I thought this one would be impossible to beat.

G.E. RATING: 4 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, V. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

