V – The Computer Game by Ocean


v_-_the_computer_game_01Publisher: Ocean
Developer: Ocean
Release Date: 1986
Code: Grant Harrison
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 40%
Our Game Rating: 45%
Completed by Frank Gasking
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
I was a massive fan of the original TV Movie, V. It really was an 80s TV SCI-FI spectacular that capture the imagination of all us young TV freaks. Needless to say that when the computer game arrived on the scene I was the first one to the shops with cash in hand. Why on earth did I waste my money?!
v1
And so Diana finally disappears into the distance. The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I’m not quite sure how Frank completed this game – I can only guess that he cheated 😉 Talking of cheats… I’ve created an ending trainer for this game, which can be downloaded from here.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: The final sequence shows the mother-ship blowing up, but before it does 2 little escape pods eject from the ship and fly off into the distance with the words, “FAREWELL DONOVAN. WE WILL MEET AGAIN : : : DIANA : :” appearing on the screen.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: Considering the game stinks from the high heavens, I was quite surprised it had this ending, or in fact any kind of ending! It’s well presented and completes the game neatly. It could have done with a piece of ending music 😦
Brendan Phoenix: Remember buying the game and figuring out how to play it – bought it back to the shop and said I bought it as a birthday present and they had it already – and swapped it for something else. Them bloody lizard codes! Sad thing is, I tried it recently on an emulator and STILL can’t figure it out. I think this has a nifty little underrated ending. As for the ending… the screen shot is familiar to Platoon, but I like it. If I had completed this game with no cheats and came across this ending I would have been impressed. I actually remember seeing this end screen shot in a give away in Commodore User called ‘The Screens They Didn’t Want You to See’ or something familiar – was a free booklet in one issue with all final screens in it. I still have it somewhere. I just think it is a pretty fitting ending to the game, pity there is no end game music, but I think it’s a good un!
Inge Pedersen: Being a huge fan of the TV-series, I bought the game as soon as I saw adverts for it. I played it several times, and AFAIR I aaalmost clocked it. The graphics are nice multicolour, and the character is well animated. The problem is that the gameplay get a little repetitive after a while. However, I was a bit disappointed when I saw the ending (which is *very* easy to see, just reset and type sys15104).
Andy Vaisey: The original 2 part ‘V’ mini-series was an epic, intelligent piece of ’80’s sci-fi TV, that was followed by a slightly watered down, but nether less enjoyable follow-up, ‘V: The Final Battle’. Unfortunately, this was then followed by a truly awful weekly TV series. The game and ending? Sadly, they’re on par with the weekly TV series and are rather underwhelming; another example of the tripe sometimes churned out by Ocean licensing mass production factory.
Matt Rogers: Always enjoyed completing this one – found it very satisfying.
Andrew Fisher: Take Impossible Mission; remove most of what was good about it; add alien symbols; add annoying aliens that buzz around you; shake well and release before it is ready. That’s the recipe for V.
FINAL SAY: Give it a go –  though it isn’t going to wow you 😦

G.E. RATING: 5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, V. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

