Ultima I: The First Age of Darkness by Origin Systems


ultima1gamePublisher: Origin Systems
Developer: Origin Systems
Release Date: 1986
Code: David Lubar
GFX: Unknown
Music: N/A
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 92%
Our Game Rating: 81%
Completed by Unknown
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi
> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
This is where it all started – for the Commodore 64 at least. The Ultima series is one of the longest running and most popular RPG series in gaming history, which is one of the reasons why I’ve never played it. To be honest with you, I’m not a fan of RPGs and so I wasn’t ever going to touch this with a barge pole. The closest I have got to playing such a game was with Mastertronic’s ‘Master of Magic’, and I only really played that to listen to the Hubbard soundtrack. Sad but true.
I can’t really tell you much about the game, but at least I can show you the ending…
ultima1-1
Almost done…
ultima1-2
The End!
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I’ve no idea where I got this ending from and so I’m not sure how it was complete!
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once you reach the final location, a dialogue box appears with the message: “THOU ART VICTORIOUS!
COMMENTS:
Vinny: You know when you’ve just come back from a walk in the park and notice that you’ve trodden in a load of dog shit? Well this ending gives you the very same feeling!! Total and utter annoyance. 0.5/10 from me.
Gaz Spence: Obviously the second age of darkness is the ending.
Brendan Phoenix: I seriously hope the other entries in the series have better endings than this.
Andy Vaisey: Spooky that this has been posted, at least from my point of view. The C64 group I’m involved with just released a preview of an RPG we’re working on: http://noname.c64.org/csdb/release/?id=111474
I PROMISE it will have an ending better than that Ultima pile of turds ending!
Andrew Fisher: Bear something in mind – this was a conversion of a game released three years earlier on the Apple II. So while they improved some things, the ending was left the same as the original. Yes, it is poor but I think you can cut them some slack. And yes, later games probably had better endings (3 onwards) since they were created on the 64.
Stefan Guerilla: Considering that you literally spend ages completing this kind of game, the ending is audacious – if they didn’t have much memory left, they should have written at least a nice epilogue…
FINAL SAY: The same as dog shit on your shoe!

G.E. RATING: 0.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, U. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

