Quarx by Paraylze


Quarx_1Publisher: Paralyze
Developer: Paralyze
Release Date: 1993
Code: Paralyze
GFX: Paralyze
Music: Dodger
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 83%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Quarx is a simple puzzle game. I had a quick little go of it to get the idea of what needs to be done. It seems that you have to move tiles around to hit other tiles in order to clear the level. After beating a few simple levels I was bored so I decided to cheat. The graphics are ok and it plays fairly well for a puzzle game, but this game didn’t really have much to offer me. I’m not a fan of this genre, so I can’t criticise it too harshly. I’m sure someone out there would find this entertaining.
quarx1
Nice graphics ๐Ÿ™‚
quarx2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I used a cheat that allowed me to skip to the end.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: The ending sequence shows a small craft leaving earth to join a large spacecraft which waits in orbit. A mechanical arm is seen coming out of the bottom of the larger craft to pick up the smaller craft and pull it on board. A force field then appears around the craft and it vanishes into hyperspace. A page of multicoloured text then appears explaining events. It seems you have been battling some alien in a competition. Now that you have won, he is sent packing to find another race in the universe to compete with. One that’s less intelligent.
COMMENTS:
Neil: There’s a small animated sequence and a colourful page of text explaining events. For a simple puzzle game, the ending is very good. 5/10.
Vinny: Okay, so I admit – I haven’t played this game, but the ending looks blooming cool! I love the little animation and the graphics, plus the epilogue is nice too – nice text effect. I think this ending deserves a score of 6/10.
Kungfufurby: This ending is decent. I presume that’s the enemy’s ship going back to the UFO, and the UFO warps out of Earth. The game ends with a bunch of text which tells you that you have defeated the enemy (in this case, Torsul).
Now this is how an ending should be done for the programmers that don’t want to use too much effort. Simple, make a small animated sequence, then put some text after it. ๐Ÿ˜‰
Brendan Phoenix: Some of the games we have never heard of or by publishers we have never have heard of have some bloody good endings that put the big names to shame.
Ok this isn’t jaw dropping, but the effort is there and for that I salute it.
FINAL SAY: An end sequence! Now I did not expect that!

G.E. RATING: 6 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, Q. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

