Pac-Mania by Grandslam


pacmaniagamePublisher: Grandslam
Developer: Teque Software
Release Date: 1988
Code: Pete Harrap, Shaun Hollingworth
GFX: Jason Wilson
Music: Ben Daglish
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 88%
Our Game Rating: 88%
Completed by Gaz Spence
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
I’ve never really been a fan of Pacman; I’d rather sit and watch someone else play it than actually having a go myself. I think it’s because I have resided to the fact that I’m cack at it, and no amount of practice or tactics is going to get me into playing it. I understand the value and importance of the game, but it’s just not for me…
So when this game appeared back in the day, it was inevitable that I was going to avoid it, and it wasn’t until about 10 years later that I had a play and actually enjoyed it! For me, it’s a much more playable than the original and a little more exciting. It’s just a pity that the ending offers none of that excitement…
pac-mania1
Just one more pill…
pac-mania2
Phew! Made it 🙂
pac-mania3
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Gaz definitely cheated!
SO WHAT HAPPENS?:  Once you have swallowed the final pill, the ending message appears, which reads: “WELL DONE! YOU HAVE COMPLETED ALL THE ROUNDS OF PAC-MANIA. YOU CAN NOW START THE GAME AGAIN WITHOUT RESETTING YOUR SCORE!
COMMENTS:
Gaz Spence: Not a bad conversion, although I’m a bit of purist when it comes to Pac-Man and prefer the original games. I think Ms Pac-man is best version on the C64. I was ecstatic when the game invited me at the end to replay without resetting my score. What a brilliant idea!
Vinny: The ending is completely dire in comparison to the cool game. I’m guessing that they either ran out of time or memory – or even both! I’d hate to think that they just got bored and took the quick and easy route of producing a screen of text. There isn’t even a Ben Daglish ending tune 😦 1/10.
Andrew Fisher: It’s a shame there isn’t an extra tune – but I still think the team did a really good job fitting in all the intermissions and day/night mode to a single load. The Amiga and Archimedes versions have to load extra levels, which ruins the flow.
Andy Vaisey: A decent enough game with a decent enough ending. Enough said.
Brendan Phoenix: The ending of the arcade was just as lame – then again I did expect this game just to loop.
FINAL SAY: Dire – pretty dire 😦

G.E. RATING: 1 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, P. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

