NARC by Ocean


narcgamePublisher: Ocean
Developer: Ocean
Release Date: 1990
Code: S. Pick, S. Snake
GFX: S. McClure, N. Lagman, R. Whitaker
Music: Paul Tonge
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 79%
Our Game Rating: 79%
Completed by Brendan Phoenix
Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
I’m not a big fan of this arcade conversion – as you’re about to find out…
To be honest with you, the only way to play this game is with all the cheats turned on (thanks N0stalgia!). Any other way and it’s just a complete nightmare! I remember owning this back in the day and HATING the multiload, and then hating the actual game. I can see how hard the coder and graphics team tried to recreate the arcade, but it just didn’t hit the spot for me. And as for that damn tune… I can’t stop it going round and round in my head!
narc1
The final scores…
narc2
The final message…
narc3
# IT’S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN… #
narc4
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I’m guessing that Brendan cheated!
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once the final level is completed, the scores are counted up and an ending message is displayed, which reads: “WELL DONE. YOU HAVE COMPLETED YOUR TRAINING MISSION. CONTACT YOUR LOCAL DEA OFFICE.”
COMMENTS:
Brendan: Narc is the worst ending – although faithful to the arcade original – 1/10.
Vinny: Pitiful. An absolute piece of shite. I hate the game and I definitely hate the ending! 0.5/10 from me!
Andy Vaisey: I remember all the hype surrounding this game and it’s violence at the time of release, but to be honest I was neither impressed with the arcade version or any of the conversions. It wasn’t bad, but I thought it was boring and pointless.
The ending is shocking. Is it supposed to be funny or something? Duh, OK, I’ll apply to the real agency then. Whatever…
Gaz Spence: Narc has its fans but I found it an uninspirational repetitive slog. The ending is a real downer rather than pick me up.
Andrew Fisher: Have to agree with Vinny, it was a good effort to replicate the arcade game – with some good presentation and graphical touches. But the game play is unrewarding and the ending is a real buzzkill.
Brendan Phoenix: Just watched the CPC version on YouTube, boy is it sloooooow. Makes the C64 games look a masterpiece. The problem is, like the arcade, it’s a pretty boring game.
FINAL SAY: NEXT!

G.E. RATING: 0.5 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, N. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

