Mad Doctor by Creative Sparks


Pmaddoctorgameublisher: Creative Sparks
Developer: As above
Release Date: 1985
Code: James Allen
GFX: James Allen
Music: n/a
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 40%
Our Game Rating: 45%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Mad doctor is one of the maddest games I have ever played in my life. It’s also a great game, and lots of fun to play. I think this game would cause a lot of controversy if it was made nowadays. The author may have pinched his ideas from the Young Frankenstein movie – which is a comedy classic…
You control a mad doctor around a small town, and your aim is to steal body parts to build a monster. This can be done by killing innocent citizens, robbing graves, pinching the bodies of executed citizens or stealing them from church coffins. Once you have built a monster you have to animate it, control it and get it on the stage to perform in front of the townsfolk at the village hall! The game is quite violent with very sinister ideas, but humorous due to its bad graphics and animation. You need to play this game to fully understand it’s insane genius. Very much like the mad doctor himself.
maddoctor-1
Finally…
maddoctor-2
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Using lots of cheats to make my doctor invincible.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: Once the monster is tamed and taken to the village hall to perform, if you have done everything correctly, you get a page of text congratulating you on your successful experiment. It goes on to say that the experiment causes the audience to be amazed and discuss the implications of your research. The game then ends.
COMMENTS:
Neil: The information at the end wraps the game up nicely, but it’s not very exciting. Very poor ending I’m afraid. 2/10.
Vinny: Way back in 1985 I used to pay a daily visit to my local computer game shop (at the end of our road!), and on every Friday I used to make a purchase with my pocket money. This meant that I would have a whole week to study which game I would buy next, and each week I would pick up Mad Doctor, read through the instructions, have a few glances at the artwork, and decide that the game would probably be crap. I’m happy to see that 29 years later I made the right decision!
Unfortunately, it’s exactly what I expected. not much of an ending at all… 1.5/10 from me.
Gaz Spence: A great premise to a game and I can think that a nice 3D remake could be made – would satisfy all the sickos out there! The ending is ok as far as the epilogue goes but not hugely memorable.
Andrew Fisher: The only Creative Sparks game I owned back in the day was Kayak, I’ll have to give this one a try. But not for the ending – that deserves to be separated into pieces and buried in an unmarked grave.
FINAL SAY: I wanted to see my monster dance on the stage!

G.E. RATING: 2 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, M. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

