Kane by Mastertronic


kane_01Publisher: Mastertronic
Developer: Mastertronic
Release Date: 1985
Code: John Darnell
GFX: John Darnell
Music: John Darnell
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 63%
Our Game Rating: 89%
Completed & Reviewed by Matthew Rogers & Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Since 1985 I (the Webmaster) have been playing this game in total ignorance. Since the day I purchased it, I have always managed to get to the final Train-chasing sequence and ALWAYS stopped the train. I was confident that this game was NEVER going to show me an ending.
Then a week ago, Matthew Rogers sent in a file that he thought was the ending. In fact, it was exactly what I had experienced: the train stops and the game restarts. Were we both trying to complete a game that had no ending?
A few days ago, I stumbled upon a few screen shots that presented us with a game ending sequence – surely not?! I checked the code to Kane, but I didn’t find any evidence of an ending. So, I checked Kane 2 and low and behold, there was some ending code and text! I emailed Matthew and told him what I had found.
A few hours later, Matthew emailed me with an ending to ……. get ready for it …. KANE! There WAS an ending! HUH?! Thanks to Matthew, the final piece is in place and the puzzle is complete …
kane1
Our hero stops the train for one final time.
kane2
Our hero gets to meet the President who says, “WELL DONE”. The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: “Matthew is a chee-eat!” c(“,) Actually, I am not quite sure if he cheated or not, but I certainly did!
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: After collecting 10 peace tokens and then stopping the train, Kane gets to stand in front of the President (I presume it’s the President!) to receive his award. You hear a croaky, “WELL DONE” and then the ending text reads, “SO WAR WITH THE WAGARI INDIANS WAS FINALLY ENDED. OUR HERO WENT ON TO BECOME A LEGEND IN HIS OWN TIME, PREFERRING ONLY TO BE KNOWN AS… ‘THE MARSHALL OF KANE’ FUTURE GENERATIONS WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER HIS ACTS OF BRAVERY WITH ADMIRATION AND GRATITUDE. WE THE AUTHORS WOULD LIKE TO ECHO THE PRESIDENT’S FEELINGS AND SAY…’WELL DONE’. YOUR SCORE IN THIS GAME WAS #####”.
COMMENTS:
Vinny: I just wasn’t expecting this game to have an ending and so I am pleasantly surprised to see that it has quite a cool one. To think, all those years I have been playing it just for the shear fun and not to see the ending.
Matt: Fantastic – the game’s gone well up in my opinion now. Always thought it was good, particularly for a 199er, but the completion is really sweet for such a little game. It seems you need to deliver at least 10 peace tokens (collected from the first screen) in order to finish – gets harder each time you go round, too.
Andrew Fisher: I have managed to complete it once, but those horse riding levels are tough.
It’s a decent ending for a budget game, that’s for sure.
FINAL SAY: We FINALLY cracked it! There’s a message, a picture and some digi-speech!

G.E. RATING: 7 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, K. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kane by Mastertronic

  1. Another game I had on the C16, where it had no ending (other than death). The duck-shooting and town shootout levels just looped endlessly, and there was no story: you just seemed to be playing a very under-funded sheriff who needed to keep trading ducks for ammo to deal with an endless crime wave of little white stick men. The C16 had some nice original games, but why anyone ever tried converting anything for it (other than the most basic early arcade games) I will never know.

    This looks like a really nice effort for one of Mastertronic’s 1.99 range though, bearing in mind it was not unheard of for Games Creator titles to be released in the format. At least this one has a few different styles, some very nice (if slightly plagiarised) animations, good sound effects, and a very fitting ending. Also, nice to see it had a story and that the Native Americans are the good guys (or at least not villains and mooks). I can think of a few later Western-themed titles that were less politically correct…

    Like

  2. I have managed to complete it once, but those horse riding levels are tough.
    It’s a decent ending for a budget game, that’s for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • c64endings says:

      Hi Andrew

      Thanks for all your comments. I have added them all to the actual ending pages as I see you as a valued contributor. Keep em coming!

      Kind regards,

      Vinny

      Like

Leave a Reply

