I, Ball by Firebird


i-ball_01Publisher: Firebird
Developer: Firebird
Release Date: 1987
Code: Andrew Betts
GFX: S. Robertson
Music: Rob Hubbard
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 80%
Our Game Rating: 89%
Completed & Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to Download my Crazy Hack file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Ah – I,Ball… I remember it well… I had just left a college computer course and started working in the local computer game store – which at that time was my dream job. My parents were not impressed at all, but I kept my head down at home and impressed them by bringing home a wage. My first job was unpacking new releases, and on this particular Monday morning I sliced open the box with my Stanley Knife and there in front of me was I,BALL. I didn’t really know what to make of it and so my manager suggested I loaded it up for us to play during the day. During the day, not only did we play the game to death, but also the customers got their fare share of game time. We sold every copy that came in that day and my manager ordered another lot that afternoon.
If you’ve never play it, I,Ball is a vertical, Shoot-Em-Up style game that also requires you to collect items and power-ups as you go through each level. With bold graphics, digitised speech and a thumping Rob Hubbard soundtrack, you can’t really go wrong with a game that only set you back £1.99!
iball1
There is NO WAY you can complete this level without a cheat!
iball2
The end of Level 16.
iball3
Is THAT it?! Not even some cool Hubbard sonix?!
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I don’t think I have ever complete this game without cheating! (I have since created a crazy hack for this game so that you can easily view the ending as well as play with a whole host of other new in-game features. Download it from here.)
SO WHAT HAPPENS?:  Once you have completed the final level (16), an extra message appears that reads: “THAT WAS INCREDIBALL. YOU HAVE COMPLETED IBALL.”
COMMENTS:
Vinny: Well, it certainly was a great game to play but unfortunately, as you can see above, the end sequence wasn’t anything to boast about (“.) 1/10.
Andrew Fisher: It’s a lot of fun, but losing your weapons when you die (like so many games) makes it too difficult to progress further.
Having seen the single screen messages for rescuing the balls after every fourth level, I kind of guessed the ending would be similar. Disappointing.
Gaz Spence: Must admit that this is a little too hectic for my tastes but the hi res graphics work well and it’s decently programmed. The ending is about all we’ve come to expect from a budget game which is a shame.
Brendan Phoenix: Most memorable thing about I,Ball was pressing your keyboard to generate the sound samples – great fun (for a few minutes at least) more than can be said about viewing this ending.
FINAL SAY: Take a quick look at the screen above and then move on … QUICKLY!

G.E. RATING:  1 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, I. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I, Ball by Firebird

  1. Pingback: I, Ball 2 by Firebird | C64endings.co.uk

Leave a Reply

