Hacker by Activision


hacker_02Publisher: Activision
Developer: Activision
Release Date: 1985
Code: Steve Cartwright
GFX: Unknown
Music: Unknown
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 87%
Our Game Rating: 85%
Completed & Reviewed by Neil Collins

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
Hacker is a game that used to bug me; I tried playing it years ago but couldn’t get anywhere. Today I gave it another go as the ending was requested on the c64endings website. It’s not a bad game. I tried following a solution online, but found that the version I was playing had to be completed a different way. After about an hour, I cracked it. You basically have to travel from city to city, trying to work out what item to trade with the local agents in order to obtain the ten parts of a secret document. This document, when presented in Washington, will stop the evil plans of a large corporation that are set on world domination…
hacker1-1
And so the ending begins…
hacker1-2
A message is coming in…
hacker1-3
So there you have it
hacker1-4
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: Using pieces of information I found online on various websites.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?:  Once you have obtained the tenth piece of the document, you have to rush to Washington to speak to the agent there. He congratulates you on behalf of the US government. You are then shown a picture of the front page of the Washington News, which tells of your success.
COMMENTS:
Neil: I thought it was ok. I enjoyed playing – although it was quite a short game.
Vinny: Hmmm… never played this game and probably won’t ever play it. As for the ending, it’s okay, but could have been so much better. Certainly lacklustre.
Kungfufurby: Not half bad, I’ll admit. I presume the game didn’t have any real music?
I will admit, being able to print your winning newspaper could make anyone that wants to show that they played the game and won is neat… if your printer is still functional.
Brendan Phoenix: To be honest, better than I expected.
Never got into the game at all and was at a loss on how to play it – I just expected a rather lame ending.
For a 1985 game, the ending is at least half decent. Yep, it’s the tried and trusted newspaper headline – but at least you can read the print.
Andrew Fisher: I really like the game even though I tended to get stuck fairly quickly. It was an unusual idea and well implemented. The ending is OK, not spectacular.
Gaz Spence: A pleasing end in the context of the overall game – it wasn’t as if you could expect amazing graphics and sonics. Worth a 5 in my view.
FINAL SAY: It’s not the greatest end I’ve seen. I won’t be playing this one again.

G.E. RATING: 4 / 10

This entry was posted in Game Ending, H. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

