Fearless Fred & The Factory of Doom by Americana Software


fearless_fred_01Publisher: Americana
Developer: Mr. Chip Software
Release Date: 1986
Code: Tony Kelly
GFX: Tony Kelly
Music: Trevor Covell
ZZAP64 Game Rating: n/a
Our Game Rating: 83%
Completed & Reviewed by Brendan Phoenix

> CLICK HERE to Download emu file
> CLICK HERE to Download my Crazy Hack file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
This is a seriously addictive game with elements of Boulerdash, Blagger, Big Mac & Pac Man – and I had never even heard of it before. Well recommended.
Some of the later levels are very difficult but managed to battle my way through it. After so many levels you come to a bonus screen – you do not need to complete this, if you don’t collect all the items, the next level loads. The last level appears to be ‘Get Past This One If You Can’, and after managing to get past this, the bonus screen appears – however this time another level did not appear – just the bonus screen again – strange. I let my lives run out, but the title screen just appears.
I was resigned to the fact that the game had no ending and the bonus level just looped indicating the end; however, I attempted to complete the bonus level this time (hadn’t managed to do any of the others) and it was bloody difficult with a very strict time limit. I collected the last item and I got some nice points awarded – then – an end sequence! Hurrah! And an animated one at that! (nothing to seriously write home about though). So I’m glad I didn’t switch off and presume it just continued to loop the bonus level.
fearlessfred1
The hours of playing through were finally worth it!…
fearlessfred2
The final bonus screen…
fearlessfred3
…and THE END is…
fearlessfred4
…revealled!
fearlessfred5
Fred appears and walks toward ‘THE END’…
fearlessfred5
and waits…
fearlessfred6
…for a ‘peanut’ to knock him into the ground!
fearlessfred7
The End.
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: No trainers available so took several hours to beat – didn’t mind at all as the game was a joy to play.   (Vinny: I have since created a  crazy hack that allows you to skip to the ending, as well as giving you a whole host of other features and cheats).
SO WHAT HAPPENS?: I was happily surprised to see the words ‘THE END’ scroll across individually and our little character then appear and walk into between the 2 words, only then to be squashed by what appears to be a large pink peanut??? (is there another ending where our character gets squashed by something? Or is my mind playing tricks?)
COMMENTS:
Brendan: A hidden gem. I too had never heard of this game but it was brilliant. Found it so addictive and I couldn’t put it down, I think I enjoyed it even more as there was no trainer – some really good level design. Plus unlike Big Mac (which is also rather good) it does have an ending.
Poor-ish ending but a great game. 3.5/10.
Vinny: Here’s a game I had never heard of until I happened to come across it on eBay. After winning the item and receiving it in the post, I investigated the game to find that it’s very much like Tony Kelly’s other game, Big Mac – which I am a big fan of 🙂
I too am surprised to see that an ending has been included in this game – given that Big Mac doesn’t have one. so 3.5/10 from me too.
Andrew Fisher: Can’t say I’ve ever played this one, it’s a fun little sequence but not really a classic.
Matt Rogers: Whoa! The main sprite is 1 or 2 pixels shy of the Big Mac sprite – if not exactly the same! Is the animation the same, too? I do love that in Big Mac…
Andy Vaisey: Whoa! Where do you dig up these games? Never heard of this… Glad I haven’t. Me no likes, game or ending. Sorry.
FINAL SAY: It’s more than what you usually get from Tony Kelly.

G.E. RATING: 3.5 / 10

This entry was posted in F, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

