Edd the Duck! by Zeppelin Games


eddtheduckgamePublisher: Zeppelin Games
Developer: Impulze
Release Date: 1990
Code: Ian Copeland
GFX: Richard Beston
Music: Adam Gilmore
ZZAP64 Game Rating: 78%
Our Game Rating: 83%
Completed & Reviewed by Vinny Mainolfi

> CLICK HERE to Download my Crazy Hack file
> CLICK HERE to view the YouTube ending video
I bet most of you have never played this game; and in fact, I bet most of you have NEVER heard of this game! Put quite simply, it’s a poor man’s Rainbow Island rip-off, but it’s actually fun and addictive!
Edd the Duck was originally released as a full-priced game, but then Zeppelin came to their senses and eventually released it as a budget title, which was the right market for it. I never actually owned a copy until a few years back, and still hadn’t played it until a few weeks ago when I stumbled upon the game and decided to create a crazy hack for it. To my delight, the game is actually cute, fun and addictive to play and I spent some time really getting into it.
I’d be interested to hear what you think of the game and ending…
eddtheduck5
The End!
HOW WAS IT COMPLETED?: I built a custom crazy hack for myself so that I could see all the levels and also jump to the ending – as well as a few other tricks. You can download my crazy hack from  http://www.hackersoft.co.uk Just head for the ‘CRAZY HACKS’ page.
SO WHAT HAPPENS?:  Once you have collected the final star on level 8, the ending message appears, which reads: “WILSON IS PLEASED, SEE HIS EYES GLEAM. YOU’VE FINISHED THE GAME, HIS SMILES A BIG BEAM. IN RETURN FOR THE PREZZIES, WE’LL GIVE YOU THE BROOM. WHICH YOU CAN THEN USE, TO SWEEP OUT YOUR ROOM.”
COMMENTS:
Vinny: As I mentioned above, I love playing this game, but the ending is a real let down. It’s just the end of level screen but with different text 😦 What really annoys me is that there even seems to be an ending tune hidden in the code that was never used in the actual game! You can hear all the tunes via my crazy hack. This ending could have been so much better because there DEFINITELY was the space for it.
Andrew Fisher: Have the original on disk but never played it much. The ending makes me want to lock the programmer in a broom cupboard until he comes up with something better…
Brendan Phoenix: I had this on the Amiga and it was a great little platformer – although bloody hard.
I have to say though, I fookin hate poem like endings (thinking of Cauldron here!) and this joins the list of them.
What else could rhyme with Duckling Bite that would sum up my feeling’s for this ending?
Andy Vaisey: Will try the game courtesy of your hack. That ending looks a bit of a clusterduck though…
Gaz Spence: I’m a great fan of Richard Beston’s graphics usually but Edd the Duck’s visuals are strangely subdued. That said, it’s not a bad Rainbow Island clone. The ending is ducking useless.
FINAL SAY: Edd the ##CK more like!

G.E. RATING: 0.5 / 10

This entry was posted in E, Game Ending. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

